• Article: Alexis Wyndham’s Five Rules for Surviving Homecoming by Crista McHugh +Excerpt + Giveaway

    1.       Don’t go . Seriously. It’s just a stupid dance where you’ll have to drop $200 on a dress you’ll only wear once and that six other girls will be wearing. Retro shops are cool for finding something...

  • Review: Dangerous Lies

    Another book by Becca Fitzpatrick? Yes please! I read and loved Hush, Hush (I still need to finish the series), so I was super excited to read a new book by her. I'm mostly into fantasy books but this one was good! The characters were good and the descriptions...

  • Review: The August 5

    The August 5 had a lot going for it. It has some great topic starters about colonization and conquering. The only issue I had was that the book was fairly slow and that the female characters had more depth vs the male characters. The story itself had...

  • Article: Homeschooling 16-Year-Old Dreams Big, Becomes Author - Claire Fraise

    Today we have the pleasure of having Claire Fraise on to chat about dreaming big and going out and making your dreams a reality. Claire if just sixteen and already has her first book on bookshelves. Way to go Claire. Dream big and make your American dream...

  • Review: A Song for Ella Grey

    At first I didn't realize this was a re-telling of Orpheus and Eurydice. I ended up having to Google it. I honestly really didn't connect with the characters. Ella was a bit annoying in the beginning. The story felt very poetic and the some of the things...

  • Review: To Stand Beside Her

    I liked the story concept in To Stand Beside Her. I loved Nalik. He is kind, patient and not what you would expect. He has accepted his fate and the way he opened his heart to Anatolio, Phillip, Ruth and Tim was amazing. His love for Leila was beautiful....

  • Review: Unspoken Shadow Falls: After Dark, #3

    With CC Hunter, there is not a book that she writes that isn't downright AMAZING. Unspoken, third book in the After Dark series, is a thrill seekers dream. With non-stop action, heart pounding adrenaline and romance around every corner, this book is a...

  • Review: What We Left Behind

    Toni and Gretchen are the two main and wonderful characters that lie within What We Left Behind. The book focusses on Toni as we see her struggles as she identifies as genderqueer. This was such an interesting book to read. For those who have never read...

  • Article: Exclusive Excerpt: Girl Divided Two by Suzie T. Roos

    Join us today as we share an exclusive excerpt to Suzie T. Roo's second book in her Spoken For series. As an author, it’s not always fun and games when writing a novel. We have those scenes we hate to write. Yes, we don’t always love every...

  • Review: Rogue The Paladin Prophecy, #3

    There were a lot of reader expectations that went into book three (Rogue) of the Paladin Prophecy. I wish I can say that I was excited and pleased with this one, since it is the last--but I wasn't. There wasn't much to Rogue that left me wanting to keep...

  • Review: The Edge

    The Edge by Roland Smith is the long awaited sequel to PEAK. The Edge has lived up to its wait. With high intense adventure and action, this book is sure to please any action thriller fan! Following the story of Peak the book opens with quick action and...

  • Review: Justice The Warrior, #5

    This is the final book in Rebecca Royce’s outstanding urban fantasy series, The Warriors. This book is intense and will take you on an emotional roller coaster. I had to walk away from reading it a couple of times due to it just being too much which is...

  • Review: Velvet Undercover

    Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown is an amazing Young Adult story about an intelligent young British girl who is sent on her first spy mission to Germany during World War II. Her assignment is to help rescue a spy known as Velvet but no one knows the spy’s...

  • Article: Affiliate Promo

    Like our Facebook Page so we tag you when we promote your books. To purchase the promos below you must fit into one of these categories in the last 30 days . NOR Reviewer NOR Columnist Given a 20% Off Coupon Charitable Cause Book Bewitching Book Tours...

  • Review: Subversive The Warrior, #3

    This is the third book in a unique urban fantasy. The main character is a teenager with big ideas and leaderships skills. She, however, sees herself as a medium warrior and not very pretty. However, she attracts male attention wherever she goes. This...

  • Review: Redemption The Warrior, #4

    This is the fourth book in The Warrior series and in this one everything gets all shook up. The reality everyone thinks is real, isn’t and Rachel is the cause. SciFi fantasies come alive and operable as people are cloned and viruses destroy society. This...

  • Article: Carve Your Own Path by Nicole Winters

    When I first started as a writer, I used to devour books and magazine articles that offered advice on how to be an effective writer. They usually consisted of lists such as: 1)   Have a favorite mug, use your favorite pen (I started before the...

  • Review: Rebel Belle Rebel Belle, #1

    Are you a fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer? The head cheerleader - popular, smart and sophisticated - the typical southern belle. Meet Harper Jane Price! She is the head of almost every organization at school, has the most popular boy as her boyfriend,...

  • Review: Blank Canvas

    Blank Canvas is a very emotional rollercoaster ride. For Two and a half years Maddie has been in the hands of a deranged guy who calls himself the painter. He kept her in a room, locked up and painted when he felt the urge. Maddie might not have suffered...

  • Article: Crista McHugh Author Q: Did you base characters off those in high school?

    Most of my inspiration for the characters in the book come to the local teens in my Seattle suburb. It’s a wonderful melting pot of mixed races and international influences, of the crazy rich and highly intelligent. It’s where the tech millionaires...

  • Review: Nightfall

    Although this CREEPY dystopian was a little slower than I would have liked and I was really REALLY hoping we were going to get a little extra to the story's end. However, I have to say that it was still beyond amazing! The creep factor in this one hit...

  • Review: Reawakened The Reawakened Series, #1

    This book is a piece of work. And not in a good way! Not because the main character is rich, gets A's, has all the freedom she wants, etc. She still seemed like a pretty good leading lady. The issues I had with this was the story itself. The author has...

  • Review: Playing the Player

    Stories featuring two completely different personalities are very high on my “to be read list”. I like to read about how the characters overcome their prejudice toward each other and how they start to see behind all the well build facades. And, of course,...

  • Review: Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru Creative HeArts

    Sloane made a statement with her art that got her arrested. Her parents made the decision to take her away from her friends and family so she will straighten up her act. That's how she ended up in Texas with a cute next door neighbor. Honestly, Ten Things...

  • Review: Initiation The Warrior, #1

    Rachel Clancy lives in an underground habitat where she was born. Rachel is a Warrior that will be sent above ground on her sixteenth birthday to fight the monsters that destroyed everything and caused Armageddon. Rachel lives with her father who is a...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles