• Article: Giveaway: Eerie by C.M. McCoy

    Dates: 2/8/2016 - 3/18/2016 Prize: Enter to win a Kindle 6" or $50 Amazon Gift Card Open To: International Eerie - Eerie, #1 Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life vivid....

  • Review: Almost Midnight Shadow Falls: After Dark - Novella Collection

    Are you a fan of the Shadow Falls series? Well if you are then you shouldn’t pass this book up! Now it did have one a complete new POV from a character in the stories. I won't tell you who so not to spoil it, but just so you know you’re going to love...

  • Review: Shallow Graves

    What would you do if you woke up one night to a man digging you out of a grave? What if the evil inside him compelled you to drain him of his life force before you could comprehend what you were doing? If you are Breezy, a teenager whose life was stolen...

  • Article: Giveaway: Feedback by D. L. Richardson

    Prize: Win this awesome YA spy adventure novel, 1 print copy to be won, Open International Dates: 1/23/2016 - 3/30/2016 Feedback Seventeen year old Ethan James can’t bear the boring life he’s living while waiting for a kidney transplant. When...

  • Review: Benjamin Franklin Huge Pain in my...

    This irreverent children’s book gives a remarkable glimpse of the events of colonial America, contrasted with a humorous look at the angst and challenges of being a boy dealing with peer pressure, a blended family, and the blush of first romance. I love...

  • Review: Punishment Summer

    Punishment Summer is about a city girl, Nicki, who gets sent away to stay at her grandpa’s cabin in a town called Punishment in the Mendocino Forest because of her out-of-control behavior—drinking alcohol and sneaking out of the house. Throughout the...

  • Review: Identity Crisis

    Identity Crisis is a cute fun read about how school rumors can shape the school year. From the web to word of mouth so much can change when you’re spreading it around. This book is told in alternating POVs from the mean girls as well as the POV of the...

  • Review: Macbeth #killingit OMG Shakespeare

    Courtney Carbone has taken the backbone of William Shakespeare’s Macbeth storyline and “killed it” by putting it into text messages style of speech used on social media sites such as Twitter. She also does not use any of Shakespeare’s style of writing:...

  • Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter OMG Shakespeare

    Like a similar book in series, Courtney Carbone’s Macbeth #killing it, I did earlier this month; this story is written in text messages that are used on social media web sites. Because Brett Wright used the previous style of writing, this story has lost...

  • Review: The Golden Yarn Mirrorworld, #3

    So when The Golden Yarn showed up on my list of books I FREAKED OUT!! I didn’t even know that a new book was coming out! Night Owl Reviews saw my prior reviews for this series and new I would want this. When it showed up and I saw that it was a bound...

  • Review: Before Goodbye

    Let me just start by saying I'm a sucker for contemporary YA--with that being said, it should be no surprise that I loved Before Goodbye! What a heart wrenching and warming story Mimi Cross has weaved together. Both Cate and David struggle with their...

  • Article: The Hardest Part of Writing by Matthew J Metzger + Excerpt

    The hardest part of writing is deleting. Not editing. Deleting. When big chunks need to come out -- entire chapters, long scenes, entire character arcs. When they need to come out, it's heartbreaking. This doesn't happen to me often -- I'm a plotter,...

  • Review: Thicker Than Water

    In Thicker Than Water inner monologue and mystery are the two main themes of this book. Both are done very well. I didn’t see the ending coming and the resolution to the master blew me away! Normally I realize what’s going on far before we find out, but...

  • Article: Giveaway: Eerie by CM McCoy

    Dates: 12/15/2015 - 1/31/2015 Prize: $20 Gift Card Open International Eerie Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life vivid. When her big sister goes missing, eighteen-year-old Hailey...

  • Review: Awaited Wasteland #2

    I really enjoyed this book - more than I expected to, actually. I expected something a bit more fluffy (not that fluffy is bad), but this was much grittier than I expected (in a good way). There's sacrifice and decisions to be made, and none of it is...

  • Review: The Trouble with Destiny

    Petty Drama is the main theme of this book folks! I thought I was going to fall in love with this story set on the water. But I found out that that was just not going to be the case. If you loved the authors other book, Meant to Be with its funny humor...

  • Review: Placebo Junkies

    Man how to review Placebo Junkies. In some places I really liked the story and in others the MC was kind of unreliable and meh. Audie tends to ramble a LOT where one second she will be talking about one topic then boom were on to something new. It made...

  • Review: Unforgiven Fallen, #5

    I haven’t been that much of a fan of this series and with the ending of book 4 I wasn't too sure about this one. But with the movie coming out shortly I knew that I would need to revisit this world of fallen angels. This new story finds us in Cam's POV...

  • Review: Finding Perfect

    Finding Perfect is beautiful story about young love, coming of age and finding your way regardless of the obstacles. It is a rich girl-poor boy story and I absolutely love books with that theme. The story can be divided into two parts. In the first part...

  • Review: Nexis

    This book reminded me of another book called Elusion, where people go to a virtual world to escape. This book was pretty inventive and really felt like a wonderful blend of cyborg tech and a girl who is all natural. In the world, everyone dreams of being...

  • Review: Imperfect

    Let me just say that I am sure this is a good story. I liked what of this book I read and the only major flaw I had with it is NOT something that is “wrong” with the book. I am not saying that at all. I mean, I was annoyed by the gigantic info-dump about...

  • Review: Fairly Certain Love Of Fairs, #1

    Okay, I admit it. I am a huge fan of Renaissance Fairs, and love to dress up and act in them. Therefore, I had no doubt in my mind that I would adore this novel. I can assure you that I most certainly did thoroughly enjoy it. I found this novel to be...

  • Review: Falling For the Wrong Guy

    Teenagers are more likely to do stupid things without thinking about consequences. Both characters of this novel did such things. They fell for one another knowing that they are off limits. From the very beginning it was interesting to see how Ruby Davis...

  • Review: A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

    This book was the Lake House - for kids! Just like in that book, the two people are from two different times and, in this story, two different places. It was a great story about magic, friendship, and adventure. Without giving too much away, this one...

  • Article: Top 7 Times and Places I’d Visit by Renee Collins

    I got my degree in History, so this question is fun, but difficult for me. Fun, because I’ve already given it quite a bit of thought. Difficult, because there are so many historical eras and places that I would love to visit. So, without further...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles