• Review: The Society

    “The Society” is about a girl named Samantha, who’s been bulled by her ex best-friend and Queen Bee, Jessica, for the last three years because her father went to jail for insider trading. To get revenge, Samantha wants to bring down Jessica and her elite...

  • Review: Marked Sequel to Tracked

    OMG OMG OMG!! How I haven't read this series before now is beyond me!! Book one is Tracked and Marked is the sequel. The covers are not the greatest, if you ask me, but I'm a diehard fan of this series now!!! Marked has got to be one of the best YA books...

  • Review: Wishing Day Book 1

    I wanted to love this book so much! But the story was just all over the place. Nothing really seemed to have an order and the story was just so confusing because of it. “Wishing Day” started out so charming with a premise that sounded so cute and interesting....

  • Review: Contact

    “Contact” is about a girl named Mira who has tried to commit suicide twice because of the grief that comes along with her gift of being able to read other people’s psyches upon skin contact. While dealing with that her father and his company is under...

  • Review: Exile for Dreamers A Stranje House Novel, #2

    Although I do miss Georgie's POV I have to say that I did enjoy Tess's. I really love how the author sets up the next book by introducing us to the new romance. It’s PERFECT, I really can't wait to be in Jane's POV! With her witty comebacks, I'm sure...

  • Review: Romancing the Nerd

    Nerds, geeks, high school, finding who you are and where you belong are some of my favorite topics in YA novels. So it is not a surprise that I read this one. Romancing the Nerd, goes beyond typical YA romance novel. In the forefront there is a romance...

  • Review: The Revenge Artist Evelyn Hernandez Book 1

    Philip Hoy engagingly depicts the volatile world of high school, where emotions run high and vicious gossip runs amuck. Evelyn Hernandez deals with familiar adolescent issues – first loves, trials with parents and friends, her emerging sexuality, peer...

  • Review: King's Folly The Kinsman Chronicles

    I am torn with King's Folly. Although the book was good I had some issues with it. First off I felt confused through the first part, but I ended up loving it once I read it a few times (lol). That being said this author is amazing! Jill Williamson has...

  • Review: Surviving High School

    So the first thing that put me off about this book was the first sentence. "I wasn't always sexy, cool and popular". That statement is just UGH In my mind!!! When I saw this book on here I thought it was going to be a fun summer read about high school....

  • Review: The Pages Between Us Pages Between Us, #1

    The Pages Between Us is filled with a really fun idea and concept of sharing based on artsy type of things like blogging and writing letters. I would have loved having someone to share with like this. I thought that it was a fun way to get kids interested...

  • Review: Love Me Never Lovely Vicious, #1

    Love Me Never is about Isis, a girl who’s had her heartbroken three years ago and juggles with low self-esteem, moves to Ohio so her mom can get out of a bad relationship. When she starts school, she finds out everyone is in love with this gorgeous guy...

  • Review: Holding Court

    Holding Court is about a girl named Jules, who has something her best friend calls “Psychic Tourette's Syndrome” where she blurts out uncontrollable futuristic prophecies, which usually make no sense at the time. When she starts her new summer job at...

  • Review: Ink and Bone The Great Library, #1

    The best kinds of fantasy stories are those that stretch the imagination while telling a compelling tale, and this one definitely entertained me with its ‘what if’s’. Having been conditioned to celebrating the Gutenberg press and its far-reaching impact...

  • Review: Lady Renegades a Rebel Belle Novel

    So this the last of this series was OK at best. It was better than book two but, still lacked that luster from book one. The ending was predictable which made the ending a little less enjoyable. But the ending did fit the story. I’m sad to say goodbye...

  • Review: The Secret to Letting Go

    "The Secret to Letting Go" was an interesting book. Daniel and Clover are great characters who really made the book what it was. Clover is nothing but trouble, really, and it was fun seeing Daniel's reactions to her and the situations she gets herself...

  • Review: The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare

    The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare will not disappoint you! I didn’t know this was a book two at the time I started so I went out and found a copy of book one and devoured it. This one picks up where book one leaves off and well it was a doozy! Alex...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Katee Robert

    Hi Katee. It's awesome to have you here. First off, what's you latest book! The Wedding Pact Essentially it’s “The Godfather” meets “Romeo and Juliet.” The O’Malleys are one of three seriously powerful Boston crime families. As the eldest daughter, Carrigan...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews L.G. O'Connor

    Hi Readers, Today L.G. O'Connor has joining us to share her latest book, Caught Up in RAINE. L.G., what's your book about? It's about a widowed romance writer in her early 40s who has been plagued by loss. She meets this hot, young landscaper in his 20s...

  • Review: The Rift The Seventh Book 2

    I met Mimi and the gang in the first book of the series, "The Seventh," and I knew they were going to have problems with one member's family considering their background. I already knew what was going to happen, so I wasn’t surprised when it was confirmed...

  • Review: A Distant Voice

    "A Distant Voice" was so well written, I never knew what was really going on until the last couple of chapters. Violet and her family have been through a lot, they’ve suffered greatly and have many issues. When Violet and her mother move in with her grandmother,...

  • Review: Defender

    Defender is one book that is a little out there. It has the topic of a girl who finds a dead body, but her father doesn’t believe her. Tiny is a 6ft 6in woman. Her boyfriend is much shorter. They head out to find out what happened. This book is full of...

  • Review: Call Forth the Waves The Celestine Series, #2

    OMG, what to say first off, don't read this “Call Forth the Waves” if you haven’t read book one! You will be hopefully lost. Second this book was so much better than book one and I don't say that very often. I devoured this book in a few hours shortly...

  • Review: The Mage Sister

    When I first began the book, Jahx wasn't a character I cared for. Once we got to 352 years after the prologue and we see a different Jahx I couldn't help but love him. He was no longer insufferable but kind, gentle, patient and sexy. To his students,...

  • Review: Golden Heart of Dread, #3

    I dived into this book right after it came. To tell you too much would give away spoilers, and I don’t want to do that. So, I’ll keep this short. The characters come alive off the page in this amazing breathtaking conclusion to the Heart of Dread series....

  • Review: The Testing The Testing, #1

    The Testing is the first of three books in a YA Dystopian series by Joelle Charbonneau where a cast of young characters are challenged to stay alive to earn a better position in their society. Just when the survivors think that they are safe, their memories...

There are 1,651 results matching your search criteria.

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles