• Review: The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare

    The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare will not disappoint you! I didn’t know this was a book two at the time I started so I went out and found a copy of book one and devoured it. This one picks up where book one leaves off and well it was a doozy! Alex...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Katee Robert

    Hi Katee. It's awesome to have you here. First off, what's you latest book! The Wedding Pact Essentially it’s “The Godfather” meets “Romeo and Juliet.” The O’Malleys are one of three seriously powerful Boston crime families. As the eldest daughter, Carrigan...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews L.G. O'Connor

    Hi Readers, Today L.G. O'Connor has joining us to share her latest book, Caught Up in RAINE. L.G., what's your book about? It's about a widowed romance writer in her early 40s who has been plagued by loss. She meets this hot, young landscaper in his 20s...

  • Review: The Rift The Seventh Book 2

    I met Mimi and the gang in the first book of the series, "The Seventh," and I knew they were going to have problems with one member's family considering their background. I already knew what was going to happen, so I wasn’t surprised when it was confirmed...

  • Review: A Distant Voice

    "A Distant Voice" was so well written, I never knew what was really going on until the last couple of chapters. Violet and her family have been through a lot, they’ve suffered greatly and have many issues. When Violet and her mother move in with her grandmother,...

  • Review: Defender

    Defender is one book that is a little out there. It has the topic of a girl who finds a dead body, but her father doesn’t believe her. Tiny is a 6ft 6in woman. Her boyfriend is much shorter. They head out to find out what happened. This book is full of...

  • Review: Call Forth the Waves The Celestine Series, #2

    OMG, what to say first off, don't read this “Call Forth the Waves” if you haven’t read book one! You will be hopefully lost. Second this book was so much better than book one and I don't say that very often. I devoured this book in a few hours shortly...

  • Review: The Mage Sister

    When I first began the book, Jahx wasn't a character I cared for. Once we got to 352 years after the prologue and we see a different Jahx I couldn't help but love him. He was no longer insufferable but kind, gentle, patient and sexy. To his students,...

  • Review: Golden Heart of Dread, #3

    I dived into this book right after it came. To tell you too much would give away spoilers, and I don’t want to do that. So, I’ll keep this short. The characters come alive off the page in this amazing breathtaking conclusion to the Heart of Dread series....

  • Review: The Testing The Testing, #1

    The Testing is the first of three books in a YA Dystopian series by Joelle Charbonneau where a cast of young characters are challenged to stay alive to earn a better position in their society. Just when the survivors think that they are safe, their memories...

  • Review: Flamecaster Shattered Realms, #1

    If you are a fan of the prequel series you might dive right into Flamecaster and love this new spin off series from Chima. But for me this one lost a lot of luster once the climax of the beginning was over. The story fell flat and the characters felt...

  • Review: The Dating Tutor: Sasha’s Story

    Ellie is just another common student who attends Nobel High. There isn’t anything about her that makes her stand out and be part of the popular group in school. So when one of the most popular boys asks her out, Ellie is happy, but shocked that Jake Phillips...

  • Review: Traveler Seeker, #2

    This sequel to Seeker was so much better than book one! Man I don't say that every often. Where book one felt all over the place book two feels like it got its stuff together and told a great continuation of the story. We get some much needed information...

  • Review: The Smell of Other People's Houses

    This was an awesome little book that will grab you from the moment you read the title. I haven't seen or read a lot of books that have the setting of Alaska so this was a nice change of pace. This one has multi POVS but don't worry you won't be lost and...

  • Review: Save Me, Kurt Cobain

    This book is for the music lover! If you love Nirvana then you need to pick this one up! We follow Nico around as she tries to find her mom. On her trip she starts thinking that none other than Kurt Cobain must be her real dad so she goes around trying...

  • Review: Seven Black Diamonds

    Seven Black Diamonds is a book I was so happy to receive. I was a diehard fan of the Wicked Lovely series so when I found this I jumped on ship and hoped to be blown away! But, unfortunately this happy cruise didn’t last long. Shortly into the story I...

  • Review: A Daring Sacrifice

    I was super happy to find to A Daring Sacrifice on my list. So first off this is not really a book two. It’s a companion to book one, An Uncertain Choice. So if you haven't read book one don't worry about it, you won't be lost. That being said you should...

  • Review: Love Me, Love Me Not

    Well written with an interesting premise and lovely prose. I adored Pierce and I loved the relationship between him and Ana and how sweet and beautiful it was. But honestly, none of it balanced out the frustration for me. There was just way too much rank...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Rachel Harris

    Readers, today we have Rachel Harris joining us. Her latest book is You're Still the One. Rachel, what's the book about? YOU’RE STILL THE ONE is a romantic comedy about a fresh-out-of-college woman with a daring summer bucket list and a desire to prove...

  • Article: Giveaway: The Affiliate by K.A. Linde

    Dates: 2/21/2016 - 3/21/2016 Prize: $25 Amazon Gift Card Open To: Open International The Affiliate - Ascension Book 1 On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, seventeen-year-old Cyrene Strohm's lifelong plans come to fruition...

  • Review: The Yearbook

    The Yearbook, by Carol Masciola, is an intriguing book. Lola Lundy is a fabulous character who all can relate to. She wants a place to fit in and finds it, in the past. The description of a past visit draws one in and holds you. Each and every one of...

  • Review: Tarnished

    Tarnished, the sequel to Perfected, is set in a world where the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets. It continues Ella’s story and starts off right where Perfected left off, where Ella’s escaping...

  • Review: These Shallow Graves

    THESE SHALLOW GRAVES by Jennifer Donnelly is shrouded in mystery and deception. If you think you know what's happening, you're very wrong. Jo Montfort comes from a privileged, upper class family. She enjoys writing interesting stories like Nellie Bly,...

  • Review: Twenty-One Heroes

    Twenty-One Heroes is a pretty fast read. It’s a great book for teens to get interested in the Revolutionary War time period. Reading this made me want to look up a ton of stuff that was in this book, especially Dr. Joseph Warren. The characters were pretty...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Sam Forman

    Today we have Sam Forman joining us. Sam's book Twenty-One Heroes is a young adult historical fiction Novel. Thanks for joining us Sam. Tell us about Twenty-One Heroes! Outspoken Katherine, elder daughter of a Salem shopkeeper, supports the patriot cause...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles