• Article: Bolder and Older: Sharon Ledwith (Young Adult)

    I've known Sharon Ledwith via social media and email for several years. Given her energy and talent, I was surprised to discover she was fifty when she first published. Though we write in different genres, mine a bit spicy and hers Young Adult, I still...

  • Review: Ghostly Echoes A Jackaby Novel, #3

    I have been a fan of the Jackaby series since it started and I am very sad to see that this third story just didn't work out for me. The wonderful Mr. Jackaby fell so flat for me that he really was only good for seeing the other world in this story. He...

  • Review: Olivia Decoded

    “Olivia Decoded” is the second book in the Olivia Twisted series. It takes place about eight months after where the second book ended where Olivia was left with her grandfather to live a normal life, but of course that normalcy doesn’t last very long....

  • Review: A Girl Called Dust Book One of the Dust Trilogy

    Without giving too much away, “A Girl Called Dust” is about Arden, a girl whose been experiencing weird things over the last couple of years, like waking up to deep scratches in her floor, her best friend telling her she’s not human, but doesn’t elaborate...

  • Review: The Fall of Butterflies

    OK, so I really don't know where to start on this novel. I don't normally read contemporary, but when I saw this I was instantly intrigued. So I gave it a go. I’m not so sure that was such a good idea…but every reader needs to step out of the box and...

  • Review: A Forest of Wolves The Uprising, #2

    As I was introduced to the new series, "The Uprising," I was intrigued by the depth of the novel's actual synopsis. Sadly my interest did not hold for long. I do not like to think of any novel as a bad read and yet this material was closely related to...

  • Review: The Hawkweed Prophecy

    “The Hawkweed Prophecy” is a fairly interesting book about two little girls switched at birth by magic. This book focuses on the ideals of nature vs nurture and for the most part it was enjoyable. It was interesting watching both girls grow up. I liked...

  • Review: The Replacement Crush

    “The Replacement Crush” starts slow and it focused so much on Vivian and her replacement crush list that after first 50 pages I was wondering should I put a story side for a while, or give it another chance. I decide to do the second and I was not sorry....

  • Review: Into Aether The Trinity Key Trilogy, #1

    "Into Aether" pulled me in from the first chapter. I really enjoyed following Theodora (Theo) on her fantasy adventure. She's grown up in Colorado and has recently lost her father. Then her mother goes missing while off on a trip. We soon find out that...

  • Review: The Form of Things Unknown

    I finished “The Form of Things Unknown” the other day and I am still not sure what to say about this book. I don't do many books about mental illness and well this one I really liked. The setting, story, characters, etc. were all well done and just set...

  • Review: Paper or Plastic

    Alexis Dubois did something stupid, something completely and utterly stupid. So in order to pay the price for her behavior she is forced to work in the local SmartMart. At first she hates it, but soon she realizes that working in SmartMart has its perks....

  • Article: YA Retellings From Entangled TEEN + Giveaway

    Hi Readers. Entangled Teen authors are stopping over today to share their books and do a fabulous giveaway. Don't miss the contest. It's near the bottom of the post. Recently, we asked several Entangled TEEN authors of YA Retellings the following question,...

  • Review: Live and Let Psi

    "Live and Let Psi" is the second book in the Psi Fighter Academy novel series, which is about Rinnie, a Psi fighter, who helps protect the world from evil. In this new addition, Rinnie is looking to take down her archenemy, Nicolaitan, who is manipulating...

  • Review: Forever Sixteen The Haney Brother Series Book 1

    Crazy!!!!! I thought “Forever Sixteen” was your typical young adult story where the girl meets the new boy and BAM instant sappy teenage love! I made an assumption about the story based on the title of the story and read it because J.S. Wilsoncroft writes...

  • Review: Zero Zero Series Book 1

    "Zero" by Morgan Dark is a really great suspense story. It follows the life of Kyle Bradford and also the burglar Zero. Kyle is a student at a prestigious school. His parents are dead and he has been adopted by his mom's friend. Kyle's life is plush and...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Carli Palmer

    Hi Carli Palmer! Thanks for joining us on Night Owl Reviews. Please tell us about your latest book, Shore House Slumming and your character Dana Kline. Dana lives in Seattle but is about to lose her job and become somewhat homeless for the summer. She...

  • Article: Young Adult Reading List

    As readers most of us have read Young Adult books at some point in our lives. Many of us have continued to read these great stories. Let us help you find some must read YA. We would love you to share some of yours in the comments. We love sharing on NOR...

  • Review: Bloodcraft The Cruentus Curse Series, #2

    “Bloodcraft” took me for a loop. For the most part I DIE HARD LOVE IT!!! Especially in the start when Tori is using magic to kill of all things spiders. I can’t help but think how useful that would be. But then there are parts that just made me want to...

  • Review: Sea Spell Waterfire Saga, Book Four

    “Sea Spell” is the fourth and final book in the Waterfire Saga series and was a great conclusion to an amazing series! It’s filled with beautiful friendships, great characters, action-packed battles, sweet romances and everything else you could want in...

  • Review: Horseplay A Hickville High Companion, #4

    My favorite part of reading is when something happens during the story that completely changes my liking (for better, of course) of the story. That is what exactly happened to me with “Horseplay”. The story starts as a typical YA novel, set in high school...

  • Review: Defying Gravity

    “Defying Gravity” is a feel good book. It is predictable, it doesn’t tackle any difficult issues and it is bubbly and nice. I was pulled into the story from the very beginning and I enjoyed the ride very much. The heroine Zoey Miller is a secondary character...

  • Review: Girl in the Shadows

    In Girl in the Shadows, we meet Moira, the daughter of a single Vegas-Strip magician, who wants nothing more than to be one of the top female magicians in the industry, but her father is dead set on her never practicing magic. Ever. Knowing that her father...

  • Review: Wake the Hollow

    “Wake the Hollow” is about Mica, a girl who returns to her hometown of Sleepy Hollow when she receives a mysterious note from her mother, a woman she left six years prior to live with her father in Miami. Before Mica gets there, her mother dies. Mica...

  • Review: The Almost Girl The Riven Chronicles, #1

    I fell in love with “The Almost Girl” shortly after I started it. I loved the concept of the parallel worlds and the tech war. I would love to see a prequel book. The characters are great. I really loved Riven! Her attitude, strength, and determination...

  • Review: The Fallen Prince The Riven Chronicles, #2

    “The Fallen Prince” is so good!!! This is called the Riven Chronicles but this book has a very good summed up ending. So I'm not sure where more books would come into play. I really would like to see another book though. Maybe one where they are bringing...

There are 1,651 results matching your search criteria.

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles