• Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Lena North

    Hi Lena. Thanks for joining us today. Please tell us about your latest book, "Runes of Fate". What's your book about? Runes of Fate blends a classic murder mystery with everyday life in a Viking village, but it's also a story about freedom, and wanting...

  • Review: Supremacy Supremacy, #1

    “Supremacy” started out good with Kate being this semi-naive girl who loved nature and was willing to help a guy out when his bike broke down. Then as it went on I got extremely irritated with Kate and the things she did. She’s supposed to be this super...

  • Review: Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale

    Well I was kind of disappointed with Risuko. It’s much closer to Middle Grade vs Teen YA. The first part of the book was very confusing, but it did get better. Reading about a different culture was great. So many people have done so many things. Learning...

  • Article: Hannah Jayne and Kara Terzis on Places to Write Thrillers

    Summer is here. School is out. If you are looking for a way to keep your heart rate up while relaxing poolside or on the beach we suggest some heart-pounding young adult thrillers. To give use a little sneak peek into the life of thriller author, Sourcebooks...

  • Review: Independent Study The Testing, #2

    Independent Study is the second book in Joelle Charbonneau’s The Testing series. It’s my pleasure to report that this is no sophomore slump story. In fact, I enjoyed this storyline better than the first book because there was no time wasted on being slowly...

  • Review: The Hidden Oracle The Trials of Apollo, #1

    Alright, so I should have known that this was another spin off. Ya - shoot me. This is the first book in The Trials of Apollo series, but it doesn’t stand alone. So luckily my 11 year old had already read the other books by Rick Riordan and loved them,...

  • Review: Beware That Girl

    I was so excited to get this book from both BEA and Night Owl Reviews. But what I found was a book that was way different than I thought it was going to be. “Beware That Girl” is full of abuse and it seems that that is the main plot. Almost all the characters...

  • Article: Tracy Deebs' on If you could have any superpower what would it be and why? + Giveaway

    I spent most of my childhood wanting to be Wonder Woman. I loved her invisible jet, her lasso of truth, her bullet-deflecting bracelets and—of course—her kick butt red boots. Oh, and I also loved how she could spin in a circle and go from...

  • Review: A Spy in the House The Agency Mysteries, #1

    Set in Victorian London this captivating new series features a young woman, Mary Quinn, who is saved from the gallows when she is just twelve years old and becomes a member of a secret woman’s detective agency. How Mary found herself in such dire circumstances...

  • Review: Original Fake

    Kirstin Cronn-Mills has a great mixture of words and graphics in, Original Fake. I expected something that looked more like a comic book, but was pleasantly surprised by the illustrations, binding and high quality overall. The pictures blended so well...

  • Review: The Society

    “The Society” is about a girl named Samantha, who’s been bulled by her ex best-friend and Queen Bee, Jessica, for the last three years because her father went to jail for insider trading. To get revenge, Samantha wants to bring down Jessica and her elite...

  • Review: Marked Sequel to Tracked

    OMG OMG OMG!! How I haven't read this series before now is beyond me!! Book one is Tracked and Marked is the sequel. The covers are not the greatest, if you ask me, but I'm a diehard fan of this series now!!! Marked has got to be one of the best YA books...

  • Review: Wishing Day Book 1

    I wanted to love this book so much! But the story was just all over the place. Nothing really seemed to have an order and the story was just so confusing because of it. “Wishing Day” started out so charming with a premise that sounded so cute and interesting....

  • Review: Contact

    “Contact” is about a girl named Mira who has tried to commit suicide twice because of the grief that comes along with her gift of being able to read other people’s psyches upon skin contact. While dealing with that her father and his company is under...

  • Review: Exile for Dreamers A Stranje House Novel, #2

    Although I do miss Georgie's POV I have to say that I did enjoy Tess's. I really love how the author sets up the next book by introducing us to the new romance. It’s PERFECT, I really can't wait to be in Jane's POV! With her witty comebacks, I'm sure...

  • Review: Romancing the Nerd

    Nerds, geeks, high school, finding who you are and where you belong are some of my favorite topics in YA novels. So it is not a surprise that I read this one. Romancing the Nerd, goes beyond typical YA romance novel. In the forefront there is a romance...

  • Review: The Revenge Artist Evelyn Hernandez Book 1

    Philip Hoy engagingly depicts the volatile world of high school, where emotions run high and vicious gossip runs amuck. Evelyn Hernandez deals with familiar adolescent issues – first loves, trials with parents and friends, her emerging sexuality, peer...

  • Review: King's Folly The Kinsman Chronicles

    I am torn with King's Folly. Although the book was good I had some issues with it. First off I felt confused through the first part, but I ended up loving it once I read it a few times (lol). That being said this author is amazing! Jill Williamson has...

  • Review: Surviving High School

    So the first thing that put me off about this book was the first sentence. "I wasn't always sexy, cool and popular". That statement is just UGH In my mind!!! When I saw this book on here I thought it was going to be a fun summer read about high school....

  • Review: The Pages Between Us Pages Between Us, #1

    The Pages Between Us is filled with a really fun idea and concept of sharing based on artsy type of things like blogging and writing letters. I would have loved having someone to share with like this. I thought that it was a fun way to get kids interested...

  • Review: Love Me Never Lovely Vicious, #1

    Love Me Never is about Isis, a girl who’s had her heartbroken three years ago and juggles with low self-esteem, moves to Ohio so her mom can get out of a bad relationship. When she starts school, she finds out everyone is in love with this gorgeous guy...

  • Review: Holding Court

    Holding Court is about a girl named Jules, who has something her best friend calls “Psychic Tourette's Syndrome” where she blurts out uncontrollable futuristic prophecies, which usually make no sense at the time. When she starts her new summer job at...

  • Review: Ink and Bone The Great Library, #1

    The best kinds of fantasy stories are those that stretch the imagination while telling a compelling tale, and this one definitely entertained me with its ‘what if’s’. Having been conditioned to celebrating the Gutenberg press and its far-reaching impact...

  • Review: Lady Renegades a Rebel Belle Novel

    So this the last of this series was OK at best. It was better than book two but, still lacked that luster from book one. The ending was predictable which made the ending a little less enjoyable. But the ending did fit the story. I’m sad to say goodbye...

  • Review: The Secret to Letting Go

    "The Secret to Letting Go" was an interesting book. Daniel and Clover are great characters who really made the book what it was. Clover is nothing but trouble, really, and it was fun seeing Daniel's reactions to her and the situations she gets herself...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles