• Review: Forget Me Always Lovely Vicious, #2

    “Forget Me Always” is the second book in the Lovely Vicious series. It picks up a few weeks after the first book ends with Isis trying to recover her memories after the incident. Without giving too much away, I will say that I love this series and the...

  • Review: We Are Still Tornadoes

    “We Are Still Tornadoes” was great and positive surprise for me. When I started reading it I realized that it was written in epistolary form. This is not my favorite type of writing, but since I really liked the first few pages I decided to keep on reading....

  • Review: All Her Secrets

    “All Her Secrets” is about Victoria, the daughter of a famous genius inventor, who was almost murdered four years ago, but then recently gets kidnapped. I love a good thriller and this was an okay one. The main thing that bothered me was that I didn’t...

  • Review: Hellbound The Lost Souls Trilogy, #2

    It’s hard to come up with the right words to review “Hellbound”. It was even better than book one in The Lost Souls Trilogy. The characters come alive in this book and I was just caught up flipping the pages. This book just has so much going on and I...

  • Review: Bounce

    Guess what, it’s Endy Again! I have been on a roll with reading lately and “Bounce” was really good. What would it be like to get a new family each day? Would that family be better than the last? Would it be better than the one you were born with or ended...

  • Review: The Swap

    Endy here with another review! I haven't been reading many middle grade books this year as I’m outgrowing them. But this one worked out really well for me. My mom told me about some older movies called Freaky Friday and well I really love the story about...

  • Review: In Ruins Something More, #1

    Look forward to having your heart being all gushy to just have it squashed like a bug to just have it inflated again to the point of exploding. “In Ruins” is a great emotional read with a very complex story. Readers get a new adult story here with young...

  • Review: Conjuror Orion Chronicles, #1

    Remy is descended from a long line of conjurors who have used their special supernatural abilities to alter reality. The 17-year-old’s family has paid a high price for this awesome gift. Both his mother and aunt have been killed by those who oppose the...

  • Review: Disruption Book #1

    Jessica Shirvington has just jumped up to being one of my favorite young adult authors. This book ends with you wanting more of the story. Yes I NEED to know what happens next. There is a semi-cliffhanger going on here. I don't normally like cliffhangers...

  • Review: Spindle

    Something that should perhaps be made clear: this book is set somewhere in time where there are cotton mills, orphan trains, and when "No Irish Need Apply" is in full effect. I walked into this story thinking that it'd be full of hardship the way a fairytale...

  • Review: The Boyfriend Bet Boyfriend Chronicles, #2

    I enjoyed "The Boyfriend Bet". It was a fast, fun, mostly sweet read. Zoe and Grant were really cute together, and I appreciated Zoe and her unwillingness to take anything lying down. Chris Cannon did a good job of writing Grant's back and forth and conflict...

  • Review: Forward My Story Young Readers' Edition

    I found this story interesting, inspiring and one that I would probably say is geared towards high school/upper middle school students. While Ms. Wambach does take you through her professional and personal life, the way she did is was to make herself...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews K.H. Mezek

    Hi K. H.! Thanks for stopping over to share your book "Book of Angels". What's your book about? Sera is saved from death by the Night Angels, while her brother Salem is saved by her enemy Fabian Gore. Both become immortal denizens, fighting on opposite...

  • Review: The Amateurs The Amateurs Book 1

    This is my first ever read by Sara Shepard and I am very impressed. The notoriety of her Pretty Little Liars series (which is also a TV show) knows no bounds. I really didn't think I would like this book that much. The description was intriguing enough...

  • Article: Hope's Prelude by L.G. O'Connor - Free Young Adult Book

    While dealing with visions of her death, Dr. Sandra Wilson races against the clock to develop a genetic vaccine that will, in the future, save the life of the one who will lead the final battle between angels and demons. Enter the world of the Angelorum...

  • Review: The Lost Deposition of Glynnis Smith McLean, Second-Class Survivor of the RMS Titanic A Historical Novel

    “The Lost Deposition of Glynnis Smith McLean” by Scott Stevens is an historical novel based on fact. Glynnis was a survivor of the RMS Titanic disaster. She and her new husband were sailing from Ireland to America to start their new life. She made it...

  • Review: Grace and Dignity The Ark of the Sacred Scrolls, #1

    This is a solid story and I enjoyed it. I read the acknowledgments and it says it's based on the idea of a board game. There are plays on words, and the "puzzles" are cute. There is even a section in the back listing the characters and the glossary. I'd...

  • Article: Kate Avery Ellison on Why She Writes YA

    I’ve had a crush on YA fiction for decades. Young adult fiction is bold. Raw. Real. YA is like your trendy cousin who has a daith piercing and a neon blue streak in her hair. The genre is studded with books willing to push the stylistic envelope:...

  • Review: Moon Chosen Tales of a New World

    “Moon Chosen” is the first book in a new series by P.C. Cast. The premise is very intriguing. Mari is an Earth Walker like her mother who gains healing abilities from the moon. Mari's mother is very important to the clan because she has to heal the men...

  • Review: The Rains The Rains Brothers, #1

    “The Rains” is a very fast paced and creepy read! This really reminded me of “Invasion of the body snatchers”. “The Rains” is for the science fiction reader! Told through a journal via Chance Rains you do find out what happened with the invasion which...

  • Review: Chasing Truth

    “Chasing Truth” is one of those stories that you just can’t put down. It has amazing three dimensional characters and an amazing plot. I was hooked from the first chapter and I wanted to know more. The story progressed with a steady pace as the author...

  • Review: The Magic Words Writing Great Books for Children and Young Adults

    The Magic Words, by Cheryl Klein, is a fabulous resource for those writing for children and those wishing to write for children or young adults. The introduction tells exactly how to use the book successfully and I believe that is key. Thanks so much...

  • Review: The Delphi Effect The Delphi Trilogy, #1

    This was an X Files government scifi-thriller with spirits! I really loved Anna in this story. Her ability to talk to the dead was really amazing. I love how all the powers flow in this story. It worked out so well. It was never boring or slow at all....

  • Article: Natalie D. Richards on The Ideal Way to Spend a Fall Weekend

    If I asked them, most readers would probably guess that my favorite fall weekend activity involves touring haunted houses or camping in dark, creepy forests where shadows stretch long and ghosts seem to lurk behind every turn. You might guess that too. ...

  • Article: Bolder and Older: Sharon Ledwith (Young Adult)

    I've known Sharon Ledwith via social media and email for several years. Given her energy and talent, I was surprised to discover she was fifty when she first published. Though we write in different genres, mine a bit spicy and hers Young Adult, I still...

There are 1,651 results matching your search criteria.

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles