• Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Carli Palmer

    Hi Carli Palmer! Thanks for joining us on Night Owl Reviews. Please tell us about your latest book, Shore House Slumming and your character Dana Kline. Dana lives in Seattle but is about to lose her job and become somewhat homeless for the summer. She...

  • Article: Young Adult Reading List

    As readers most of us have read Young Adult books at some point in our lives. Many of us have continued to read these great stories. Let us help you find some must read YA. We would love you to share some of yours in the comments. We love sharing on NOR...

  • Review: Bloodcraft The Cruentus Curse Series, #2

    “Bloodcraft” took me for a loop. For the most part I DIE HARD LOVE IT!!! Especially in the start when Tori is using magic to kill of all things spiders. I can’t help but think how useful that would be. But then there are parts that just made me want to...

  • Review: Sea Spell Waterfire Saga, Book Four

    “Sea Spell” is the fourth and final book in the Waterfire Saga series and was a great conclusion to an amazing series! It’s filled with beautiful friendships, great characters, action-packed battles, sweet romances and everything else you could want in...

  • Review: Horseplay A Hickville High Companion, #4

    My favorite part of reading is when something happens during the story that completely changes my liking (for better, of course) of the story. That is what exactly happened to me with “Horseplay”. The story starts as a typical YA novel, set in high school...

  • Review: Defying Gravity

    “Defying Gravity” is a feel good book. It is predictable, it doesn’t tackle any difficult issues and it is bubbly and nice. I was pulled into the story from the very beginning and I enjoyed the ride very much. The heroine Zoey Miller is a secondary character...

  • Review: Girl in the Shadows

    In Girl in the Shadows, we meet Moira, the daughter of a single Vegas-Strip magician, who wants nothing more than to be one of the top female magicians in the industry, but her father is dead set on her never practicing magic. Ever. Knowing that her father...

  • Review: Wake the Hollow

    “Wake the Hollow” is about Mica, a girl who returns to her hometown of Sleepy Hollow when she receives a mysterious note from her mother, a woman she left six years prior to live with her father in Miami. Before Mica gets there, her mother dies. Mica...

  • Review: The Almost Girl The Riven Chronicles, #1

    I fell in love with “The Almost Girl” shortly after I started it. I loved the concept of the parallel worlds and the tech war. I would love to see a prequel book. The characters are great. I really loved Riven! Her attitude, strength, and determination...

  • Review: The Fallen Prince The Riven Chronicles, #2

    “The Fallen Prince” is so good!!! This is called the Riven Chronicles but this book has a very good summed up ending. So I'm not sure where more books would come into play. I really would like to see another book though. Maybe one where they are bringing...

  • Review: Bloodspell The Cruentus Curse Series, #1

    This is the debut of Amalie Howard and after reading her other books I can see how far she has grown. All though this story hits it out of the park with as an AMAZING debut you can really see how this is a new author. The story isn't refined in some parts,...

  • Review: Resisting the Rebel

    I am a big fun of Lisa Brown Roberts books, and I can proudly say that I read all of them. Unfortunately, “Resisting the Rebel” is not her best story, but it is very likable. The plot is simple and it has a bit overused topic of fake boyfriend / girlfriend....

  • Article: Balloon Pop From Entangled TEEN

    Welcome to the Entangled TEEN Balloon Pop Booth! Entangled TEEN is all about the excitement of first love, so we are talking about all of the reasons a summer carnival makes a good date! Pintip Dunn, Vivi Barnes, Heidi R. Kling, and Gloria Craw are here...

  • Review: Demons at Deadnight The Divinicus Nex Chronicles, #1

    I absolutely fell in LOVE with the Divinicus Nex Chronicles series. “Demons at Deadnight” starts out this new series and I’m recommending that you start with this book and then move on to book two. I love the characters and the banter between all of them....

  • Review: Midnight Bites Stories of the Morganville Vampires

    “Midnight Bites: Stories of the Morganville Vampires” by Rachel Caine is a wonderful collection of stories that remind one of all of the wonderfully quirky and dark elements of this series. The prologue to each indicates where in the series the action...

  • Review: Shining Sea

    This book comes with a CLIFFHANGER!!!! But don’t let that steer you away from this book. I wanted to get that out there right now as I’ve seen this showcased as a standalone novel. So go into this knowing you won’t get all your answers and will NEED the...

  • Review: The Safest Lies

    “The Safest Lies” was a weird book to me. I can’t even imagine living with my mother knowing she was a survivor of a kidnapping. The things that Kelsey had to go through are unfathomable. Kelsey's life is turned upside down when she comes home and finds...

  • Review: Losing Gabriel A Love Story

    “Losing Gabriel” is such a great story! It’s been so hit and miss on contemporary, but this was a hit! This book tells the story of three very different characters. Each telling is told alone then they intertwine into one great story! Each character deals...

  • Review: Never Missing, Never Found

    Amanda knows how to spin a story and I’m glad I continue to read her stories. I was excited when I read the back cover of “Never Missing, Never Found”, but I was a little weary when I got the book and realized it’s the same author that wrote “Damage Done”....

  • Article: C.M. McCoy's $50 Amazon Card & Sterling Silver Claddagh Ring

    Don't miss out on Eerie! Eerie - Eerie, #1 Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life. When her big sister goes missing, eighteen-year-old Hailey finds the only thing keeping her...

  • Article: 5 Copy YA Giveaway: It's All Fun and Games by Dave Barrett

    Nerdist is offering 5 lucky Night Owl Teen readers a copy of Dave's book! This looks like a really great YA fantasy. It's All Fun and Games "What would I do if my favorite fantasy world came to life? It’s a question every nerd has asked him...

  • Review: Graduation Day The Testing, #3

    Graduation Day is the third and final book in Joelle Charbonneau’s The Testing series. It’s always bittersweet when a beloved series comes to an end, especially when you are not ready for such an ending. The events of the third book follow the same path...

  • Review: Life After Juliet

    “Life After Juliet” is about a girl named Becca, who was a loner until she met her friend Charlotte, who suddenly passes away. Devastated and filled with grief, Becca doesn’t want to move on and heal at first, but then with help of unexpected events and...

  • Review: Invision Chronicles of Nick, #7

    This series is so beyond amazing. I’m kind of scared that for us older fans who love both this YA series and the original Dark Hunter series. How will the two ever connect? Or if they ever will? “Invision” is by far my favorite. Being in Nick's head is...

  • Article: Excerpt: Runes of Fate by Lena North

    Runes of Fate - Sissa Raudulfsdatter Book 1 It's the annual midwinter gathering, and Sissa Raudulfsdatter is locked into a shed – bound, gagged and waiting to be led out to the altar where she will be sacrificed. There has never been any human sacrifice...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles