• Review: Love Is All You Need Wild Roses; The Nature of Jade

    This collection of two of Deb Caletti's most romantic books being only my second read of Caletti's, I can't believe I haven't picked up any of her other stories before. I preferred The Nature of Jade over Wild Roses, but both had heart achingly sweet...

  • Review: Uses for Boys

    Don't let the pretty cover fool you; this book is deep and incredibly serious. While it is labeled for a young adult crowd, I wouldn't advise readers under the age of 16 to read it. Mature, stomach- rolling, somewhat disturbing content is within its pages....

  • Review: Weighted The Neumarian Chronicles - Prequel

    I thoroughly enjoyed Weighted! It’s a short story and I’m look forward to the sequel. It was a step away from my normal genre, but I found I was hard pressed to put it down! Weighted is very well written. Plus the ending was defiantly a surprise. I recommend...

  • Article: Gayle Forman Just One Day Blog Tour

    Comment for a chance to win a Print ARC of Just One Day! Ends 1/25/2013 1. Comment = 1 Entry 2. Tweet = 1 Extra Entry* 3. Like = 1 Extra Entry* * Make mention of this in your comment for extra entry / ( Important: Full Contest Entry Rules ) - Updated...

  • Review: The Prey The Hunt, #2

    If you thought nothing could top the first book in this series, you’re dead wrong! Fukada keeps the intensity throughout the story, but he does it with flair of wit and cunning. The journey is just as important as the destination and folks, we’ve only...

  • Review: Mirror of Shadows

    I love any storyline that’s based on the supernatural. So picking this one to review was easy. As I started reading it, I did find that the author sometimes weighed the storyline down too much for my taste. In doing this, it seemed to take away from the...

  • Review: Rise A Nightshade Novel, #5

    Ms. Cremer keeps upping her game. I really enjoyed Rise and I have to say a lot more than Rift and Rift was good. Rise has more of a darker feel with more action and more romance. We get to know all about the nightshade world, described to us in such...

  • Review: Dog Head Code

    I absolutely loved this book by Ms. Andersen! The storyline was intriguing and grabbed my attention immediately. I especially enjoyed the idea of the old book containing a map and a special unbroken code that Joe recently inherited from his late Great...

  • Article: Rachel Coker - Writing Under Pressure

    Comment to win a Print copy of Chasing Jupiter by commenting on this post! Ends 1/25/2013 1. Comment = 1 Entry 2. Tweet = 1 Extra Entry* 3. Like = 1 Extra Entry* * Make mention of this in your comment for extra entry / ( Important: Full Contest Entry...

  • Article: Melanie Dickerson - The Making of a New Kind of Fairy Tale

    Comment to Win a Print Copy of Fairest Beauty! Ends 1/25/2013 1. Comment = 1 Entry 2. Tweet = 1 Extra Entry* 3. Like = 1 Extra Entry* * Make mention of this in your comment for extra entry / ( Important: Full Contest Entry Rules ) The Making of a New...

  • Review: The Blessed

    Even though The Blessed by Tonya Hurley was not everything I wanted it to be/expected it to be, Tonya Hurley writes beautifully. Hurley does a great job of describing her characters and their surroundings. There was an eerie, creepy feeling to the book...

  • Review: The Jericho River

    Jericho River by David Carthage was a wonderful read. The history of Western Civilization such as Egypt or Ancient Greece has always been one of my favorite things to learn about. I enjoyed that while it was a fantasy novel is was also historic and told...

  • Review: Breathe

    I am a sucker for Dystopian novels, so anytime I get the chance to read one I am super excited! Before reading Breathe I had heard great things about it and I was even more excited (if that is even possible). I am pleased to share that Breathe did not...

  • Review: The Lost Prince Call of the Forgotten - Book 1 / Iron Fey

    I have read everything that Julie Kagawa has written, and loved all of it! I have to admit I was apprehensive to read The Lost Prince only because I enjoyed the way The Iron Fey series ended, and I felt almost like Kagawa should have left it alone. But...

  • Review: Winter's Tide Sisters in All Seasons

    I really enjoyed this Young Adult novel and feel that many young teenagers can find things to relate to in this story. The characters were easy to like and I found myself being transported back to their age again – seeing everything through their eyes....

  • Review: Chasers Alone #1

    Something horrible has destroyed New York. Sixteen-year-olds Jesse, Dave, Anna and Mini are just a few “human” survivors left after they escape a blown up subway car and find themselves surrounded by carnage. Not only are the buildings destroyed, ash...

  • Review: The Fairest Beauty

    The Fairest Beauty is a mash-up of "Snow White and the Huntsman" meets TV series "Once Upon a Time", and I loved every page of it. It featured a villainous queen, dark magic, and a brilliant romance. I loved her twist on the "seven", not seven dwarfs,...

  • Review: Chasing Jupiter

    Peaches galore! Our main characters Scarlett and Cliff have this witty repertoire that any reader with a younger sibling is sure to recognize. Scarlett picks up on Cliff's quirks more than even their parents, and their relationship is the one I adored...

  • Review: The Dead Speak

    This was a very entertaining and fun read for me. I loved how the author wrote the storyline around the paranormal and put a different twist on it. I found it intriguing that Riley Yates was using a voice recorder with a built in microphone in hopes that...

  • Review: Painfully Ordinary The Lumina Saga, #1

    Once again I've had the privilege of reading a wonderful novel. "Painfully Ordinary," by Stephanie Amox is a wonderful read. Stephanie takes in the use of fairies, vampires, and shifter types of characters and gives it her own twist. This makes the whole...

  • Review: Daughter of the Earth and Sky

    Bravo, bravo, and bravo. I adored the first book in this series and the second was even better! The characters have become that much more real to me now. Being a person who still believes that the Gods exist and is waiting for them to regain their power...

  • Review: Dreamspinner A Novel of the Nine Kingdoms

    What do a scared elven prince that has had his magic stripped from him and a mortal girl sold into a factory at a young age have in common? Nothing, until the threads of fate pull them together. She is looking for a skilled swordsman and he is looking...

  • Review: Waterdancer

    Water dancer is a lovely tale of a young girl named Bailey. She is put to many trials that most girls her age never even imagine. She might even become a mermaid! Through the help of her new surfer beau, Jack, long-lost-sea-creature father, Kai, and guardian...

  • Review: The Gleaning The Spellspinners of Melas, #2

    "I warn you dear child, if I lose my temper, you lose your head, Understand? ---Queen of Hearts THE GLEANING is about a witch and a warlock who are supposed to be enemies instead of lovers. Lily and Logan have been raised to fight each other to keep balance...

  • Review: Just One Day

    Gayle Forman is that author you just know you are going to love. After reading If I Stay I knew I had to get my hands on Just One Day. I am very happy to report that not only did Ms. Forman meet my expectations she far exceed them with her newest novel....

There are 1,629 results matching your search criteria.
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles