• Review: The Fairest Beauty

    The Fairest Beauty is a mash-up of "Snow White and the Huntsman" meets TV series "Once Upon a Time", and I loved every page of it. It featured a villainous queen, dark magic, and a brilliant romance. I loved her twist on the "seven", not seven dwarfs,...

  • Review: Chasing Jupiter

    Peaches galore! Our main characters Scarlett and Cliff have this witty repertoire that any reader with a younger sibling is sure to recognize. Scarlett picks up on Cliff's quirks more than even their parents, and their relationship is the one I adored...

  • Review: The Dead Speak

    This was a very entertaining and fun read for me. I loved how the author wrote the storyline around the paranormal and put a different twist on it. I found it intriguing that Riley Yates was using a voice recorder with a built in microphone in hopes that...

  • Review: Painfully Ordinary The Lumina Saga, #1

    Once again I've had the privilege of reading a wonderful novel. "Painfully Ordinary," by Stephanie Amox is a wonderful read. Stephanie takes in the use of fairies, vampires, and shifter types of characters and gives it her own twist. This makes the whole...

  • Review: Daughter of the Earth and Sky

    Bravo, bravo, and bravo. I adored the first book in this series and the second was even better! The characters have become that much more real to me now. Being a person who still believes that the Gods exist and is waiting for them to regain their power...

  • Review: Dreamspinner A Novel of the Nine Kingdoms

    What do a scared elven prince that has had his magic stripped from him and a mortal girl sold into a factory at a young age have in common? Nothing, until the threads of fate pull them together. She is looking for a skilled swordsman and he is looking...

  • Review: Waterdancer

    Water dancer is a lovely tale of a young girl named Bailey. She is put to many trials that most girls her age never even imagine. She might even become a mermaid! Through the help of her new surfer beau, Jack, long-lost-sea-creature father, Kai, and guardian...

  • Review: The Gleaning The Spellspinners of Melas, #2

    "I warn you dear child, if I lose my temper, you lose your head, Understand? ---Queen of Hearts THE GLEANING is about a witch and a warlock who are supposed to be enemies instead of lovers. Lily and Logan have been raised to fight each other to keep balance...

  • Review: Just One Day

    Gayle Forman is that author you just know you are going to love. After reading If I Stay I knew I had to get my hands on Just One Day. I am very happy to report that not only did Ms. Forman meet my expectations she far exceed them with her newest novel....

  • Review: The Tragedy Paper

    The Tragedy Paper is equally beautiful and heartbreaking. Main characters Duncan and Tim take parallel journeys into the consequences of their actions, and as Duncan could not press stop as he hears Tim's story, I could not put this book down.The magnitude...

  • Review: The Lucky Ones A Bright Young Things Novel

    While I wasn't a fan of Godbersen's Luxe series, I snatched up Bright Young Things in a second. You see, my favorite required reading in high school was by far The Great Gatsby. As soon as I read the synopsis and saw the gorgeous covers, I had to read...

  • Article: Renita Pizzitola - Gossamer

    Enter to win a NOR Goodie Package! *** Gossamer by Renita Pizzitola BLURB Shouldn't all faerytales end with happily-ever-after? Kyla Ashbury is nearing her eighteenth birthday when a mysterious boy appears at school. Her instant attraction to him...

  • Article: Win a Copy of Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

    Comment to win a Print copy of Hallowed by Cynthia Hand ! Just tell us what captured your interest about this book or author. You may enter daily. BLURB: An Unearthly Novel, #2 For months Clara Gardner trained to face the fire from her visions, but she...

  • Article: Win a Copy of The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

    Comment to win a Print copy of  The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda ! Just tell us what captured your interest about this book or author. You may enter daily. BLURB: The Hunt, #1 Don’t Sweat.  Don’t Laugh.  Don’t draw attention...

  • Review: Six Degrees of Lost

    Six Degrees of Lost was a good young adult read. Olive is a smart, brave and relatable character and David is believable, strong and kind. I enjoyed how both of them became friends with the help of being able to find an owner for a dog. This plot was...

  • Review: Crimson Frost Mythos Academy, #4

    “Crimson Frost” by Jennifer Estep is part of her wonderful young adult fantasy series featuring the Mythos Academy, a very different educational institution located in North Carolina. I always admire the author’s facility to juxtapose normal teen concerns...

  • Review: Hidden House of Night Novels

    P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast come out blazing with another book to add to your must read lists. If you have already started on this series then make sure to pick this one up. In this tenth installment, Neferet has been revealed as a mistress of darkness...

  • Review: Witch's Brew The Spellspinners of Melas, #1

    I loved the Witch's Brew. It made the emotions kick in. You just wanted to step into the book and become part of it. This is one of those books where you the reader get to make choices for the characters, which made it so real. Since this book is active...

  • Article: COVER WARS 3

    The Score Embrace  by  Jessica Shirvington : 69 Votes Insignia  by  S. J. Kincaid : 19 Votes   Insignia - Insignia Trilogy, #1 Author: S. J. Kincaid Tags: Young Adult, Science Fiction Publisher: HarperTeen More than anything,...

  • Article: Cover Reveal - Sonya Watson - The Tide Breaker

    Enter to Win a Night Owl Reviews Goodie Package! When it is discovered that Abrianna, an Amalgam, survived the mass cleansing orchestrated by Destiny her life becomes less then desirable since her only options are to be controlled or die. Title: ...

  • Review: Spark A Sky Chasers Novel, #2

    Spark, the second in the Sky Chasers series, is a fast paced futuristic read. Spark is also a suspenseful read which will keep the reader on the edge of their seats as they read about the events taking place on the Empyrean. I was excited to receive this...

  • Review: On Fire A Teen Wolf Novel

    On Fire is an eventful read based off of the television show Teen Wolf. While I enjoyed the book I felt as if I was missing something from not watching the show. I feel that to really get a good understanding of Nancy Holder's novel you will need to have...

  • Review: The Rise of Nine Lorien Legacies Trilogy #3

    The Rise of Nine is the third book in the Lorien Legacies by Pittacus Lore. I have loved this series from the very beginning, so I was super excited to get this. This was another fast paced book with even more twists and unexpected turns than the others....

  • Review: A Fractured Light Beautiful Dark, #2

    A Fractured Light is the second in the Beautiful Dark series by Jocelyn Davies. I always love reading a good supernatural book and this did not disappoint. I found that I really enjoyed reading more abut Skye and seeing how she handled the upcoming struggles...

  • Review: Such Wicked Intent The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, Book Two

    Such Wicked Intent is the second in the Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein series. I wasn’t able to stop reading this book until I had finished. It is just as suspenseful and eventful as the first. I love reading more about Victor Frankenstein and...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles