• Review: The Bad Boy Bargain

    “The Bad Boy Bargain” is a fun read from page one. The two main characters are Kyle Sawyer and Faith Gladwell, both high-school seniors. They do not run in the same circles because Kyle is a baseball player, while Faith is dating a football player. At...

  • Review: Falling for the Girl Next Door

    “Falling for the Girl Next Door” is the fifth book in the Creative HeArts series and the second book in the Sloane and Tru Arc. In the first book arc, Sloane moved to Texas from the big NYC after an “incident” and while living there she fell for the bad...

  • Review: Flicker and Mist

    The idea of people who could become invisible was a very neat concept. I was drawn in by the story but soon found out that it was not really for me. The descriptions of their world and the animals that lived there were not enough to paint a vivid picture....

  • Article: First in a Young Adult Series - Melting Pot

    New Year and New Beginnings Here we are at the start of another new year. Personally, I’m glad to see 2016 in the rearview mirror. Woooo... 2016 was a tough one on soooooo many levels, but now is the time for a fresh start. Time to reflect on last...

  • Article: Cover Wars: Crystallum VS Midnight Hour + Win Both Books!

    Cover Wars continues with Crystallum VS Midnight Hour. Vote for the cover you like the best! When you vote you also get entered to win Kindle copies of both books . We will have one winner who gets them both! The winning cover for this Cover Wars event...

  • Review: Midnight Hour A Shadow Falls Novel

    This can't be the end!!! I’m so sad that this is the conclusion!!! “Midnight Hour” is the book I've been waiting for!!! It’s in Miranda's POV and wow just wow!!! Words cannot express how I feel! I love that although Miranda is a witch she is not perfect...

  • Review: The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland

    “The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland” for me was a mess. It was manic to the extreme and I just couldn't get into it. I felt very confused and didn't connect with any of the characters. The story felt very bipolar and it just didn't work out for me.

  • Review: The Da Vinci Code - The Young Adult Adaptation

    I decided to read part of this book alongside its adult counterpart. And what I found was the adult version reads as a book two to “Angels and Demons”, The YA version reads as a book one. Other differences were we get a letter to the reader in the YA...

  • Review: Girls Like Me

    This book is in the format of text messages and verse!!! So the first thing I noticed when I opened this book was that it was written in verse, then it changes to text messaging down the line. There are a lot of broken lines and it just made the book...

  • Review: Girl on a Plane

    “Girl on a Plane” starts out like any other. A girl is getting ready to go back to school. She is flying out the next morning. She is part of a family that moves around a lot due to her dad being in the military. The author did an amazing job letting...

  • Review: Drop Dead Demons The Divinicus Nex Chronicles, #2

    Once again I cannot sing the praises enough of these two mother, daughter writing duo. Book two of The Divinicus Nex Chronicles has my all time fave main characters, has Aurora and the Hex Boys battling more demons.

  • Review: Forget Me Always Lovely Vicious, #2

    “Forget Me Always” is the second book in the Lovely Vicious series. It picks up a few weeks after the first book ends with Isis trying to recover her memories after the incident. Without giving too much away, I will say that I love this series and the...

  • Review: We Are Still Tornadoes

    “We Are Still Tornadoes” was great and positive surprise for me. When I started reading it I realized that it was written in epistolary form. This is not my favorite type of writing, but since I really liked the first few pages I decided to keep on reading....

  • Review: All Her Secrets

    “All Her Secrets” is about Victoria, the daughter of a famous genius inventor, who was almost murdered four years ago, but then recently gets kidnapped. I love a good thriller and this was an okay one. The main thing that bothered me was that I didn’t...

  • Review: Hellbound The Lost Souls Trilogy, #2

    It’s hard to come up with the right words to review “Hellbound”. It was even better than book one in The Lost Souls Trilogy. The characters come alive in this book and I was just caught up flipping the pages. This book just has so much going on and I...

  • Review: Bounce

    Guess what, it’s Endy Again! I have been on a roll with reading lately and “Bounce” was really good. What would it be like to get a new family each day? Would that family be better than the last? Would it be better than the one you were born with or ended...

  • Review: The Swap

    Endy here with another review! I haven't been reading many middle grade books this year as I’m outgrowing them. But this one worked out really well for me. My mom told me about some older movies called Freaky Friday and well I really love the story about...

  • Review: In Ruins Something More, #1

    Look forward to having your heart being all gushy to just have it squashed like a bug to just have it inflated again to the point of exploding. “In Ruins” is a great emotional read with a very complex story. Readers get a new adult story here with young...

  • Review: Conjuror Orion Chronicles, #1

    Remy is descended from a long line of conjurors who have used their special supernatural abilities to alter reality. The 17-year-old’s family has paid a high price for this awesome gift. Both his mother and aunt have been killed by those who oppose the...

  • Review: Disruption Book #1

    Jessica Shirvington has just jumped up to being one of my favorite young adult authors. This book ends with you wanting more of the story. Yes I NEED to know what happens next. There is a semi-cliffhanger going on here. I don't normally like cliffhangers...

  • Review: Spindle

    Something that should perhaps be made clear: this book is set somewhere in time where there are cotton mills, orphan trains, and when "No Irish Need Apply" is in full effect. I walked into this story thinking that it'd be full of hardship the way a fairytale...

  • Review: The Boyfriend Bet Boyfriend Chronicles, #2

    I enjoyed "The Boyfriend Bet". It was a fast, fun, mostly sweet read. Zoe and Grant were really cute together, and I appreciated Zoe and her unwillingness to take anything lying down. Chris Cannon did a good job of writing Grant's back and forth and conflict...

  • Review: Forward My Story Young Readers' Edition

    I found this story interesting, inspiring and one that I would probably say is geared towards high school/upper middle school students. While Ms. Wambach does take you through her professional and personal life, the way she did is was to make herself...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews K.H. Mezek

    Hi K. H.! Thanks for stopping over to share your book "Book of Angels". What's your book about? Sera is saved from death by the Night Angels, while her brother Salem is saved by her enemy Fabian Gore. Both become immortal denizens, fighting on opposite...

  • Review: The Amateurs The Amateurs Book 1

    This is my first ever read by Sara Shepard and I am very impressed. The notoriety of her Pretty Little Liars series (which is also a TV show) knows no bounds. I really didn't think I would like this book that much. The description was intriguing enough...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles