• Review: Miles from Nowhere

    Miles From Nowhere starts out with Chelsea Morris who has dreams of the fashion world. That dream will start in the fall, when the responsible, and dependable Chelsea will leave for New York City to start college. She wants to live it up during her last...

  • Review: No One Like You Barefoot William Beach

    Professional baseball player Rylan Cates needs to hire a temp assistant to fill in for his regular assistant who is on her honeymoon. Beth Avery is a candidate who applies for the position, but unfortunately she misses the part of the want ad that states...

  • Review: Silent Alarm

    In Silent Alarm you get a firsthand account on what it would be like if there was a school shooting. The twist with this one is that the one who did the shooting was your older brother. Alys has to deal with the after math of her brother killing 15 people...

  • Review: The ThicketyThe Whispering Trees The Thickety, #2

    The Thickety picks up where book one left off! I will warn you this does not have a good solid story ending. You will get a CLIFFHANGER!!! And yes it will kill you. This was an amazing book two!!! I cannot believe that this was so good. It was better...

  • Review: The Haunting of Sunshine Girl Book One

    I really tried to love The Haunting of Sunshine Girl. The plot sounded right up my alley. I’m into ghosts and a good mystery. But shortly into it you realize that this is not written for the teen audience. It reads more like a younger teen to higher middle...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Salla Simukka

    Current Release: As White as Snow What's your book about? It is the second book of the Snow White Trilogy, a Nordic thriller about a young girl named Lumikki Andersson who finds herself in a dangerous situation in Prague trying to solve the secret of...

  • Review: The Shadow Cabinet The Shades of London, #3

    Well, after speed reading books one and two, over the past day, I am very happy that I had this book three. Book two ends on a cliffhanger that would have killed me if I would have read it when it was out back in 2012. This is the LONG awaited book three...

  • Review: Mortal Danger The Immortal Game, #1

    This intriguing young adult story provides a sobering look at the repercussions of bullying but has a delicious and thought-provoking paranormal aspect. It is somewhat disconcerting that Edie's planned revenge seems to be regularly circumvented by unusual...

  • Review: An Uncertain Choice

    Although this book was really good. The ending was very lacking. I wish it had more closure. I understand that this is a book one. But it would have been nice to have it wrapped up in the end. I saw another review that says that you should just skip the...

  • Review: How (Not) to Fall in Love

    I loved everything about this debut novel; absolutely everything. From the first page I was pulled into this magnificent story about love, friendship, family and second chances. This story is 400 pages long, but was still a quick read for me. The author...

  • Review: The Alex Crow

    Out of all of the books I have read by Andrew Smith, The Alex Crow is the most unique story. The fact that Smith can take multiple stories and deftly weave them together shows what a talented writer he is. I admit that I was confused by the changes in...

  • Review: The Seventh

    I felt bad for Mimi because I know what it’s like to be an outcast and have people judge you, even when they don’t truly know you. In Mimi’s case her situation is ghosts, as in she sees them. Since she was thirteen she has collected ghosts and she currently...

  • Review: I Was Here

    Ugh this one is way different than Forman's other books. This book is very slow for one thing. The other thing is it does a lot of telling instead of showing. Which I think is funny because when I went to Leaky Con 14' that was one of the main things...

  • Article: Character Interview From Breaking Sky by Cori McCarthy #BookGiveaway

    Meet the Elite Teen Fighter Pilots of the United Star Academy Full Name: CHASE (TOURN) HARCOURT Call Sign: NYX Position: Pilot Height: 5’7” Hair Color: Brown faux hawk Eye Color: Brown Age: 17 Originally from: Detroit, Michigan Plane name...

  • Review: Walking the Dog

    I have to be honest and say that although this was a good story overall, there were some parts that I thought moved a bit slow for my taste. Having said that, I really admired Jared Westin because no matter what anyone thought about Sophie, the late in...

  • Review: Frostfire Kanin Chronicles, #1

    Kanin Chronicles is a spinoff of Amanda's Trylle series which was very entertaining and I highly recommend. First off, if you are looking for this series to be similar, then don’t. They are different. Bryn is so different from Wendy in the Trylle series....

  • Review: Super Pop! Pop Culture Top Ten Lists to Help You Win at Trivia, Survive in the Wild, and Make It Through the Holidays

    For me, pop culture is always fun and interesting to read and this book brings us much of it. Some is older than what I would consider pop culture of today, but not less interesting. There are chapters full of lists, and tidbits about them, to keep readers...

  • Review: The Disobedient Queen Katherine of Valois

    Katherine of Valois became the wife of King Henry V of England. She grew to love her husband and was saddened at his death. When she fell in love with Owen Tudor, she defied all laws and became his wife. This union began the dynasty of the House of Tudor....

  • Review: All the Bright Places

    What a beautifully disturbing, haunting, heart wrenching, heartwarming, young adult novel. Finch and Violet are an unlikely pair. Finch, a misunderstood misfit, and Violet, more popular and accepted by their high school peers, meet in an unlikely place...

  • Article: City Love by Susane Colasanti

    The awesome Susane Colasanti is giving away an ARC of her April 21st release of City Love! City Love Three different teenage girls learn how to navigate their hearts and NYC. City Love is the start of a romantic new series for fans of Sarah Dessen,...

  • Review: The Cipher

    This techno thriller is very close to the real world. Which just made it really creepy! Robert (Smiles) was a very good and convincing character. With a side cast of techno geeks this story will grip you until the end pages. These characters are set for...

  • Review: Girl in a Funk: Quick Stress Busters (and Why They Work)

    Quick Stress Busters offers plenty of tips for teenage girls to use to help them relax and unwind when they are stressed out. From telling a teen to write her feelings out on paper; to making your own tea bath, from teaching short exercises to uncramp...

  • Review: Start It Up The Complete Teen Business Guide to Turning Your Passions into Pay

    In this informative book geared to young budding entrepreneurs, Ms. Rankin provides pivotal data for young adults to think about and use in order to make their new businesses successful. She provides sample business plans for them to look over and gives...

  • Review: Elixir

    Before I proceed with this review, I must first say that I really don’t like reading stories written in the present tense. Some people have no problem with them, but some people do. I am in the latter camp. This was a huge factor in my decision not to...

  • Review: The Eighth Guardian Annum Guard Book, #1

    I had a hard time reading The Eighth Guardian. While the story concept was great the actual story telling was not for me. I want a book that catches my attention within the first 50 to 100 pages and unfortunately with every chapter that I read, I couldn't...

There are 1,649 results matching your search criteria.

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles