• Review: Before Goodbye

    Let me just start by saying I'm a sucker for contemporary YA--with that being said, it should be no surprise that I loved Before Goodbye! What a heart wrenching and warming story Mimi Cross has weaved together. Both Cate and David struggle with their...

  • Article: The Hardest Part of Writing by Matthew J Metzger + Excerpt

    The hardest part of writing is deleting. Not editing. Deleting. When big chunks need to come out -- entire chapters, long scenes, entire character arcs. When they need to come out, it's heartbreaking. This doesn't happen to me often -- I'm a plotter,...

  • Review: Thicker Than Water

    In Thicker Than Water inner monologue and mystery are the two main themes of this book. Both are done very well. I didn’t see the ending coming and the resolution to the master blew me away! Normally I realize what’s going on far before we find out, but...

  • Article: Giveaway: Eerie by CM McCoy

    Dates: 12/15/2015 - 1/31/2015 Prize: $20 Gift Card Open International Eerie Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life vivid. When her big sister goes missing, eighteen-year-old Hailey...

  • Review: Awaited Wasteland #2

    I really enjoyed this book - more than I expected to, actually. I expected something a bit more fluffy (not that fluffy is bad), but this was much grittier than I expected (in a good way). There's sacrifice and decisions to be made, and none of it is...

  • Review: The Trouble with Destiny

    Petty Drama is the main theme of this book folks! I thought I was going to fall in love with this story set on the water. But I found out that that was just not going to be the case. If you loved the authors other book, Meant to Be with its funny humor...

  • Review: Placebo Junkies

    Man how to review Placebo Junkies. In some places I really liked the story and in others the MC was kind of unreliable and meh. Audie tends to ramble a LOT where one second she will be talking about one topic then boom were on to something new. It made...

  • Review: Unforgiven Fallen, #5

    I haven’t been that much of a fan of this series and with the ending of book 4 I wasn't too sure about this one. But with the movie coming out shortly I knew that I would need to revisit this world of fallen angels. This new story finds us in Cam's POV...

  • Review: Finding Perfect

    Finding Perfect is beautiful story about young love, coming of age and finding your way regardless of the obstacles. It is a rich girl-poor boy story and I absolutely love books with that theme. The story can be divided into two parts. In the first part...

  • Review: Nexis

    This book reminded me of another book called Elusion, where people go to a virtual world to escape. This book was pretty inventive and really felt like a wonderful blend of cyborg tech and a girl who is all natural. In the world, everyone dreams of being...

  • Review: Imperfect

    Let me just say that I am sure this is a good story. I liked what of this book I read and the only major flaw I had with it is NOT something that is “wrong” with the book. I am not saying that at all. I mean, I was annoyed by the gigantic info-dump about...

  • Review: Fairly Certain Love Of Fairs, #1

    Okay, I admit it. I am a huge fan of Renaissance Fairs, and love to dress up and act in them. Therefore, I had no doubt in my mind that I would adore this novel. I can assure you that I most certainly did thoroughly enjoy it. I found this novel to be...

  • Review: Falling For the Wrong Guy

    Teenagers are more likely to do stupid things without thinking about consequences. Both characters of this novel did such things. They fell for one another knowing that they are off limits. From the very beginning it was interesting to see how Ruby Davis...

  • Review: A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

    This book was the Lake House - for kids! Just like in that book, the two people are from two different times and, in this story, two different places. It was a great story about magic, friendship, and adventure. Without giving too much away, this one...

  • Article: Top 7 Times and Places I’d Visit by Renee Collins

    I got my degree in History, so this question is fun, but difficult for me. Fun, because I’ve already given it quite a bit of thought. Difficult, because there are so many historical eras and places that I would love to visit. So, without further...

  • Article: Alexis Wyndham’s Five Rules for Surviving Homecoming by Crista McHugh +Excerpt + Giveaway

    1.       Don’t go . Seriously. It’s just a stupid dance where you’ll have to drop $200 on a dress you’ll only wear once and that six other girls will be wearing. Retro shops are cool for finding something...

  • Review: Dangerous Lies

    Another book by Becca Fitzpatrick? Yes please! I read and loved Hush, Hush (I still need to finish the series), so I was super excited to read a new book by her. I'm mostly into fantasy books but this one was good! The characters were good and the descriptions...

  • Review: The August 5

    The August 5 had a lot going for it. It has some great topic starters about colonization and conquering. The only issue I had was that the book was fairly slow and that the female characters had more depth vs the male characters. The story itself had...

  • Article: Homeschooling 16-Year-Old Dreams Big, Becomes Author - Claire Fraise

    Today we have the pleasure of having Claire Fraise on to chat about dreaming big and going out and making your dreams a reality. Claire if just sixteen and already has her first book on bookshelves. Way to go Claire. Dream big and make your American dream...

  • Review: A Song for Ella Grey

    At first I didn't realize this was a re-telling of Orpheus and Eurydice. I ended up having to Google it. I honestly really didn't connect with the characters. Ella was a bit annoying in the beginning. The story felt very poetic and the some of the things...

  • Review: To Stand Beside Her

    I liked the story concept in To Stand Beside Her. I loved Nalik. He is kind, patient and not what you would expect. He has accepted his fate and the way he opened his heart to Anatolio, Phillip, Ruth and Tim was amazing. His love for Leila was beautiful....

  • Review: Unspoken Shadow Falls: After Dark, #3

    With CC Hunter, there is not a book that she writes that isn't downright AMAZING. Unspoken, third book in the After Dark series, is a thrill seekers dream. With non-stop action, heart pounding adrenaline and romance around every corner, this book is a...

  • Review: What We Left Behind

    Toni and Gretchen are the two main and wonderful characters that lie within What We Left Behind. The book focusses on Toni as we see her struggles as she identifies as genderqueer. This was such an interesting book to read. For those who have never read...

  • Article: Exclusive Excerpt: Girl Divided Two by Suzie T. Roos

    Join us today as we share an exclusive excerpt to Suzie T. Roo's second book in her Spoken For series. As an author, it’s not always fun and games when writing a novel. We have those scenes we hate to write. Yes, we don’t always love every...

  • Review: Rogue The Paladin Prophecy, #3

    There were a lot of reader expectations that went into book three (Rogue) of the Paladin Prophecy. I wish I can say that I was excited and pleased with this one, since it is the last--but I wasn't. There wasn't much to Rogue that left me wanting to keep...

There are 1,651 results matching your search criteria.

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles