• Review: The Upside of Falling Down

    "The Upside of Falling Down" is about Clementine Haas, the lone survivor of a plane crash who wakes up with complete amnesia in Ireland. As she starts to regain her memories, she struggles with her old and new self. The setting was one of my favorite...

  • Review: Sinless Eye of the Beholder, #1

    “Sinless” grabbed me from the first few pages. Within the pages is a wonderful fantasy that I just couldn't put down. It has a great blend of fantasy and a dystopian setting that is perfect for young adult readers. I really can't wait to read the next...

  • Review: White Knights The White Knights Series Book 1

    "White Knights" is the first book in a new series. It is a YA spin off of the popular Lexi Carmichael mystery series and like that series the main character is a female geek. Angel is the ultimate geek and is absolutely perfect for the main character...

  • Article: C.C. Hunter, I See Dead People #LettersFromtheAuthors #ReaderGiveaway

    Dear Reader, Have you ever had the hairs on the back of your neck go up, felt someone staring, or just sensed someone standing behind you and yet, when you turned around, no one was there? Have you ever had a strange dream or maybe just saw a flash of...

  • Article: Winners: Winter Wonderland Reader Scavenger Hunt 2017

    This event is now over. Thanks to all of those readers who entered. A winners list is down the page. The holidays are here and presents abound. It's time to get a hunting and find some great books. Plus get entered to win awesome Amazon cards. Join the...

  • Review: Spartan Heart Mythos Academy spinoff Book 1

    Jennifer Estep transports readers into a new spinoff series in "Spartan Heart". It all began with the Mythos Academy series and book one "Touch of Frost". In that book we met Gwen Frost and followed her adventures against mythical creatures and power...

  • Article: Romance Author University: On Writing: Four Reasons Why You (Probably) Shouldn’t Bother Writing Short Stories by Shana Figueroa

    I started my literary career writing short stories; thought that was my niche since I’ve got lots of ideas for which the short form is the perfect medium. Turns out short stories have their uses, but establishing your writing bona fides is not one...

  • Article: YA Holiday Reads - Melting Pot

    As we slide into the holiday season, I always head to the children’s section of my favorite bookseller. I usually strike up a conversation with the staff by introducing myself and telling them that I write this column. Then I ask: “What are...

  • Article: Exotiqa $25 Amazon Card and an eBook Giveaway From M Black

    This giveaway is now over. The lucky winner is: Maria Ivy Dalmau Open Worldwide. Contest Question: If robots develop a consciousness, is it okay to use them as servants? Exotiqa - Exotiqa World, #1 Buy Now ENTER TOMORROW A Robot Cyberpunk Dystopia...

  • Review: Flux Jaunter Chronicles Book 1

    "Flux" is an exciting tale about Addy Decker, a girl who once wanted to end it all, until she meets a beautiful boy in her bathroom. I have to say that this was a very thrilling and captivating read. It was very fast-paced, and had me glued to my seat...

  • Review: The November Girl

    "The November Girl" is about Anda, the daughter of lake. She is the November storm that protects the island near Lake Superior, terrifying sailors and sinking ships every November. Hector, a boy hiding from his family, winds up on the island, and a relationship...

  • Review: Haven

    "Haven" is about Rain Ryland, a tough, street smarts guy who loses his mother suddenly and has to move to a new city and live with an aunt he never knew existed. Once there, he meets and becomes captivated by a girl named Freddie, and his whole life changes....

  • Article: Reader PJ Party: (Dec 4) With Robin D. Owens, Elizabeth Hunter, Stanalei Fletcher and Josi S. Kilpack

    Date: Monday - December 4, 2017 Monday evening we have authors coming to chat with readers like you. Plus each has a special prize for a lucky active chatter. Come and join the fun. Chat with other readers and be apart of our community. We would love...

  • Article: Black Friday Giveaway Book Bonanza Hop

    Hi Romance Readers! Thanks for stopping over for the 7th Annual Black Friday Book Bonanza hop. We have lots of blogs and websites on the hop. It's a pleasure to have you on our website. Night Owl Romance is a site for readers to find books and meet authors....

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Tenaya Jayne

    Hi Tenaya! Thanks for joining us and our readers. Please tell us all about your book "Fallen". Who doesn't love a bad boy? Erin, that's who. She's never met the famous Maddox, but she might be the only girl in Regia not in line for his attention. His...

  • Review: Leviathan

    "Leviathan" by Scott Westerfeld is the best Steampunk novel ever. The fact that it’s also Young Adult is an added bonus. In this story, there is an alternate historical moment that started World War 1. One side will fight the war with metal machines....

  • Review: Phoenix The Peradon Fantasy Series Book 1

    Princess Violetta of the flame realm is having difficulty dealing with her mother and brother's death. She's given to rebelling against her father, the King. When she meets Ryore of the Frost kingdom, the fire kingdom's enemy, she falls head over heals...

  • Article: Romance Author University: On Writing: “You’ve Got a Lot of Words, But What’s the Point?” Breaking Down What a Story Actually Is…And What It Isn’t by Shana Figueroa

    No writing workshop is complete without a definition of a story explained to the audience of aspiring authors. They come in flavors from simple to complicated, though I prefer the simple ones. A plot is not a story! A plot is a series of events that forms...

  • Review: One Foot in the Grave The Mortician’s Daughter, #1

    C. C. Hunter is back on the scene with a brand new supernatural mystery young adult novel. “One Foot in the Grave” starts a new series featuring Riley Smith. Riley is a teen without friends and her father is a Mortician. She lost her mother at the very...

  • Article: Aftermath by Sandy Goldsworthy - Romance Free Read

    Clean Teen Publishing and Sandy Goldsworthy bring to you a paranormal young adult tale. This romance free read starts you out on a series. After losing her father, Emma Bennett moves to her aunt’s small town of Westport to finish out her senior...

  • Article: Creeptastically Good Reading for October - Melting Pot

    It’s October!! Every year, I mention that October is one of my favorite months because it marks the coming of fall and the final slide into the holiday season. Soon the leaves will change from greens to reds and oranges, the air will be heavy with...

  • Article: Exclusive Excerpt: Royally Entitled - Brides of Brevalia Book 1 by Melody Delgado (Chapters 1-3)

    When her family's cider business is ruined and other local businesses are vandalized, Anika Pembrie wonders if the recent bout of unrest is merely a result of rivalry between local merchants and noblemen or if something more sinister is at the root of...

  • Article: Winners: Cupcakes & Books ($850 in Prizes) Reader Scavenger Hunt 2017 (Sep 1 - 22)

    THIS EVENT IS NOW OVER. THE WINNERS LIST IS BELOW! 34 AUTHOR'S 128 WINNERS $850 IN PRIZES Back to school is the name of the game, but adults need to have fun too. Get entered to win big in the Cupcakes and Books Web Hunt. Grand Prize: $100 Amazon eGift...

  • Review: The Thing with Feathers

    It’s become very hit and miss when it comes to my liking of contemporary novels. I have to say “The Thing with Feathers” was a successful hit out of the park! It started off so funny and held that until the very last chapters. This book will rip your...

  • Review: Priestess A Modern Greek Myth Book 2

    I normally adore novels about the Greek Gods and their ploys in the lives of mortals. Priestess is a novel similar to this. Sadly, I found it lacking. The story has a lot of promise, but is sadly disjointed and uninformative. I am aware there is a book...

There are 1,651 results matching your search criteria.

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles