• Review: Remember Me Forever Lovely Vicious Book 3

    "Remember Me Forever" is the third and final book in the Lovely Vicious series. I have to say that this was an amazing, mind-blowing conclusion. When I first read the series, it was independently published, and I loved it. And now that I read it again,...

  • Review: Garden of Thorns

    "Garden of Thorns" is about Rose, a girl who spent seven years in the Garden, which is a burlesque group made up of slave girls. When she finally escapes, she brings along a hostage. A hostage that is the former heir to the throne, and now leading a rebellion...

  • Review: Operation Prom Date

    Kate is in love with a popular quarterback and she wanted to take him to prom. And for that she needed help. And Cooper needs a rowing partner since his original partner broke his arm. Cooper agrees to help Kate with getting Mick to go to prom with her...

  • Review: The Breaking Light Split City Book 1

    I just wasn't able to finish "The Breaking Light". I got to around 20%. It just didn't work out for me at all. The book started out with the MC being held at knife point by her future love. And that was wonderful..............until.......she couldn't...

  • Review: The Hundredth Queen The Hundredth Queen Series Book 1

    “The Hundredth Queen” is a young adult fantasy. It was beyond fantastic! I wasn't too sure about it when I started, but shortly in, I knew I was going to die hard love it. So I know what you are thinking…why the 4 stars. Although this book has beautiful,...

  • Article: Cave of Secrets $25 Amazon Card & eBook Giveaway From K.H. Mezek

    Enter to win an awesome $25 Amazon Card and an eBook from author K.H. Mezek! Open International Comment Question: If you had the chance to be all-powerful at the price of losing the man you love would you take it? Cave of Secrets - Night Angels Chronicles...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Brett Armstrong

    Hi Brett! Great to have you over to discuss your book "Day Moon" and your career. Please tell us all a bit about "Day Moon". What's your book about? That can be a pretty deep question, but I will stick with the gist of the story: In A.D. 2039, a prodigious...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Jean Baxter

    Hi Jean. It's great to have you over on Night Owl Reviews. Please tell us about your debut book, "Salvageable". Salvageable is the story of eighteen-year-old Michael Jarrid. His pregnant ex-girlfriend wrongly accuses him of fathering her child, and his...

  • Review: Refuge for Masterminds A Stranje House Novel, #3

    Can I scream? YES, YES AND YES this is the story I have been waiting for. Man I really don’t want the Stranje House series to end! I really love how these books have different points of view. You don’t miss anything as the series goes along its way. I...

  • Review: The Romeo Catchers The Casquette Girls Series Book 2

    “The Romeo Catchers” is a great sequel to the The Casquette Girls series. It’s been a while since I read book one so I had to look up what it was about as I didn't remember. And I just didn't have the time to reread book one. This second book was really...

  • Review: It Started with Goodbye

    "It Started With Goodbye", by Christina June, is a glorious coming of age teen story. Tatum is a delightful girl who feels the weight of the world coming down upon her. The author does a good job of portraying her as a realistic teen. Others will definitely...

  • Review: Violet Grenade

    Holy crap, Violet Grenade was crazy. There was so much going on and I got sucked in from the very first page. Victoria Scott wrote an amazing book that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. This is one of those books that will stay with...

  • Article: 2 Book Giveaway: Steeplejack & Firebrand Giveaway by A. J. Hartley

    OUR LUCKY WINNER IS: Kassandra V. The YA series RL Stine can't put down! Thoughtfully imaginative, action-packed, and set in a 19th-century South African fantasy world, Steeplejack by New York Times-bestselling A.J. Hartley was met with resounding critical...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Karen Michelle Nutt

    Hi Karen. It's great to have you over to discuss your life and latest release. Please tell us about "Two Worlds Collided". It's a Time travel romance that takes place in 1997 Los Angeles. Evie Reid, on a whim, agrees to travel back in time to change bad...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Kadee Carder

    Hi Kadee. Thanks for stopping over to share your Young Adult series and life with us. I checked and saw that the series should be read in order. What is it about? Power within her. War without. Between the lines of flirtation and justice, Saylor must...

  • Review: The Art of Holding On and Letting Go

    "The Art of Holding on and Letting Go" is a debut YA novel worth reading. The story revolves around Cara Jenkins a teenage girl and competitive climber. Cara lived with her parents and their friend. But one day after the tragic incident that changed and...

  • Review: You're Welcome, Universe

    “You're Welcome, Universe” started out really well. I really loved how the main character stood up for her friend when it came to a slur. The school was in no hurry to stand up and do anything. I think we all strive to have a friend like that. But around...

  • Review: Just Fly Away

    “Just Fly Away” is a book I thought I was going to end up not finishing. As the ending came near I ended up liking it more than I thought I was going to. Lucy's relationship with her gramps really came through during the story. I really enjoyed how this...

  • Review: Becoming a Legend The Blue Eyes Trilogy, #2

    The series started out intriguing and I had high hopes for it, but I didn't really want to go on to finish the trilogy at the end of the "Becoming a Legend". The premise is interesting and there's lots of excitement, but with all things considered (Ari's...

  • Review: Eerie Eerie, #1

    Eerie is a bit different than other books. The author not only gives you a dark eerie suspense, but it's funny too. The book will have you on the edge of your seat throughout. You may find yourself looking over your shoulder at any little sound and then...

  • Article: Excerpt: Perdition by Lindsey Ouimet

    After the death of her stepfather, Michaela Reilly’s family picks up and moves from the bustling city of Miami to a tiny speck of a town in the middle of nowhere Georgia. Starting over is always hard, but when you’re stuck with an emotionally...

  • Review: Letters to the Lost

    This book, OMG!! I didn't know if this was going to be a win for me. The contemporary YA genre is so hit and miss for me that I usually go into them with the thought that I won't be finishing the book. So when I find something like this that I'm just...

  • Article: Stranje House Novels Giveaway Signed

    THIS GIVEAWAY HAS NOW ENDED. THE AUTHOR SELECTS THE WINNERS AND CONTACTS THEM. Enter to win the first three books in the Stranje House series. Plus a $25 Barnes and Noble Gift Card, Swag, Jane Austen Items and the Mastermind Code Breaking game. The books...

  • Review: Toward a Secret Sky

    Demons, Descriptions, and a Fabulous story await the reader of "Toward a Secret Sky"! It all starts off with Maren moving to Scotland, which let me tell you with the craze that is Outlander I was very happy to have this setting again! Maren as a teenage...

  • Review: Definitions of Indefinable Things

    “Definitions of Indefinable Things” is about a girl who suffers from depression and the boy she falls for who has a pregnant ex-girlfriend. I really didn't think I was going to mesh well with the MC Reggie, but wow how wrong I was. I loved the aspects...

There are 1,615 results matching your search criteria.
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles