• Article: To All The Boys I Have Loved Before – Book vs Movie – Apples to Oranges by Jessie Smith

    To  All The Boys I Have Loved Before by Jenny Han was the book people buzzed about at the 2018 San Diego Comic Con because it was about to become a Netflix movie. This adorable YA story is about a young girl whose love letters are delivered to her...

  • Review: The Windfall App

    "The Windfall App" is a YA book by Teresa Richards. The main character is Marina Berghman, a classical piano prodigy with parents who’ve had her life mapped out since she was in diapers. But when Marina turns eighteen and buys a lottery ticket via the...

  • Review: Cakespell

    "Cakespell" is a magical YA book by Gaby Triana. It stars fifteen-year-old Rose Zapata, who loves baking and dreams of becoming a famous baker and opening her own business one day. Her mother doesn’t want her to bake and kind of forbids her to do so....

  • Review: Dickensen Academy

    "Dickensen Academy" is a YA book by Christine Grabowski. The main character is Autumn Mattison, a girl who receives an invitation to attend a new boarding school. Autumn is hesitant to attend at first, but once she has a dream about the school, she believes...

  • Article: Maze Runner: The Death Cure - Apples to Oranges

    When James Dashner first introduced Thomas in the first Maze Runner young adult book in 2009, the amnesic boy had no idea that he was being held for experiments, all in the name of finding a cure for the human race. But that was the crazy road of the...

  • Article: Blogger Sign Up: Romance Author Guests

    We are currently seeking romance author and industry professional guest bloggers for very specific articles. A list of potential topics is below and we are open to topics that are similar. We don't guarantee a spot until we have contacted you. Guest...

  • Article: Winners: Cupcakes & Books Reader Scavenger Hunt 2018

    This event is now over. Join us for the next hunt. Hallowpalooza is in October. Make sure to claim your prizes. You have two weeks from 9/11/18 to redeem Amazon Cards, Nail Files, eBooks and the Kindle. Unclaimed prizes go back into the prize pool for...

  • Article: Romance Author University: 10 Good Books To Read If You Wanna Be A (Better) Writer by Shana Figueroa

    Writers are always giving out advice on how to write, assuming for some reason that people care. I mean, you don’t see doctors prattling on to whoever will listen about the best ways to reset a bone or writing blog posts about identifying infectious...

  • Article: Sariah Wilson on Youth and Sex Trends - How It's Affecting Literature

    My books, including my upcoming release #Moonstruck , are categorized as sweet and wholesome romance. I may have some serious kissing going on, but often my younger characters (early twenties) are waiting to have sex. Which, believe it or not, is common...

  • Article: Winners: Summer Fun Booklover Scavenger Hunt 2018

    June 14 - July 5 This event is now over and the winners are announced below! Grand Prize Winner Fire HD 8 Tablet with Alexa Plus a NOR Beach Bag Cathy Thomas has won a Kindle Fire HD 8 With Alexa & NOR Beach Bag Second Place $50 Amazon Card Jacole...

  • Article: Romance Author University: On Writing: The Most Misunderstood “Rules” of Writing, Part 2: Supposed Grammar No-Nos by Shana Figueroa

    I used to wonder what was more important—wordsmithing or storytelling. This was when I was on my O. Henry Prize kick, reading dozens of beautifully written short stories that received high praise despite lacking plots or any deep meaning (to me,...

  • Review: Wicked Descent

    Scarlett Kol’s "Wicked Descent" captures you from the first page! I was hooked on this page-turner, filled with angst and mystery. Avery is in the middle of a trying time for a teenager as it is, moving to a new town, dealing with an overprotective mother,...

  • Review: Spies, Lies, and Allies A Love Story

    I read all of Lisa Brown Roberts’ novels, and I really like each and every one of them. Her characters are amazing and three dimensional; all plots are interesting. Her novels are quick and entertaining reads and I highly recommend them. So, it is not...

  • Review: The Last First Daughter

    Are you hankering for a fast moving read with the vibration of romance and intriguing situations reflective of current and relatable world events? Between the pages of “The Last First Daughter” you are brought on the scene of terrorism as hostile technology...

  • Review: Texting Prince Charming

    This book wasn’t what I was thinking it was after reading the blurb. I expected it to be a college age couple, so characters in their 20’s. Instead, I found high school age characters with all the wild hormones of that age group. You also get all the...

  • Review: Seeking Perfect

    "Seeking Perfect" is a book that nearly destroyed me. Jesse goes through so much in her life and it hurt my heart when she was naturally suspicious of Derek wanting to be friends with her. Her home life isn't perfect by any means but I’m glad she has...

  • Review: Bellamy Rising

    Wow! “Bellamy Rising” penned by A.E. Snow provides her audience with an exciting read created especially for young adults. This narrative has all of the elements necessary for an engaging storyline. Ms. Snow's character development, settings, rising and...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Elicia Hyder

    After writing eight Soul Summoner supernatural thrillers and two standalones, which have all drawn an astounding number of reader reviews on Amazon, the incomparable, blue-haired Elicia Hyder is writing a roller derby girl novel. Yes, you read that right....

  • Article: 2018 SARA Fiesta Medal Blog Hop (April 19-28)

    And the lucky winners are... The Night Owl Romance Winner - Susan Meek Maida Malby's Winner - Kim Hansen Emily Mims' Winner - Carol Gowett Willa Blair's Winner - Joann Downie Jolene Navarro's Winner - Nicky Ortiz Teri Wilson's Winner - Jenny Cloonan The ...

  • Review: REN: Awakened The REN Series, #1

    "REN: Awakened" starts out a very interesting young adult paranormal series. The main character is pretty much a loaner and people see her as being weird and psychiatric. I liked her as she was different than so many other teen characters. She's an orphan...

  • Review: Besphinxed A Nocturne Falls Universe Story

    Alethea Kontis takes us into a young adult story in "Besphinxed". This is a story set in the Nocturne Falls universe and involves Heather Hayden (witch) and Owen Liddell (cursed to be a cat shifter). They both are attending a magical high school and from...

  • Review: This Heart of Mine

    "This Heart of Mine" is a young-adult book about Leah MacKenzie—a dying girl who is surviving day-to-day with an artificial heart. When a heart becomes available, Leah is given a second chance at life, until she discovers who her donor is—Eric, some boy...

  • Review: Fire and Bone

    "Fire and Bone" is an urban fantasy book about Sage, an eighteen-year-old girl who gets invited to a party, which results in her whole life changing. But is it for the better? Or worse? I don’t want to give too much away, but I’m in LOVE with this book!...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Rachel A. Marks

    Hi Rachel! Thanks for stopping over to chat about your latest book "Fire and Bone" as well as your life. What's your book about? This story is a bit like Percy Jackson meets Gossip Girls in the grit and glam of LA. The main character, Sage, is not exactly...

  • Article: Winners: Tea Party & Books 2018

    This Event is Now Over. Winners list below! Thanks to all the authors and readers who came and had such fun finding romance books! We love you all. THE SPONSORS Print This List and Mark Down The Ones You Want! [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] Dani Harper Christina...

There are 1,649 results matching your search criteria.

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles