• Article: Winners: Summer Fun Booklover Scavenger Hunt 2018

    June 14 - July 5 This event is now over and the winners are announced below! Grand Prize Winner Fire HD 8 Tablet with Alexa Plus a NOR Beach Bag Cathy Thomas has won a Kindle Fire HD 8 With Alexa & NOR Beach Bag Second Place $50 Amazon Card Jacole...

  • Article: On Writing: The Most Misunderstood “Rules” of Writing, Part 2: Supposed Grammar No-Nos by Shana Figueroa

    I used to wonder what was more important—wordsmithing or storytelling. This was when I was on my O. Henry Prize kick, reading dozens of beautifully written short stories that received high praise despite lacking plots or any deep meaning (to me,...

  • Review: Wicked Descent

    Scarlett Kol’s "Wicked Descent" captures you from the first page! I was hooked on this page-turner, filled with angst and mystery. Avery is in the middle of a trying time for a teenager as it is, moving to a new town, dealing with an overprotective mother,...

  • Review: Spies, Lies, and Allies A Love Story

    I read all of Lisa Brown Roberts’ novels, and I really like each and every one of them. Her characters are amazing and three dimensional; all plots are interesting. Her novels are quick and entertaining reads and I highly recommend them. So, it is not...

  • Article: $3.99 Victorian Town by Nancy Thorne

    Abby Parker planned out her whole life: complete her final year of high school, go to college, get a job, move away from her insane family, stay best friends with Jessica. But, that was before she broke into the nearby tourist attraction and unwittingly...

  • Review: The Last First Daughter

    Are you hankering for a fast moving read with the vibration of romance and intriguing situations reflective of current and relatable world events? Between the pages of “The Last First Daughter” you are brought on the scene of terrorism as hostile technology...

  • Review: Texting Prince Charming

    This book wasn’t what I was thinking it was after reading the blurb. I expected it to be a college age couple, so characters in their 20’s. Instead, I found high school age characters with all the wild hormones of that age group. You also get all the...

  • Review: Seeking Perfect

    "Seeking Perfect" is a book that nearly destroyed me. Jesse goes through so much in her life and it hurt my heart when she was naturally suspicious of Derek wanting to be friends with her. Her home life isn't perfect by any means but I’m glad she has...

  • Review: Bellamy Rising

    Wow! “Bellamy Rising” penned by A.E. Snow provides her audience with an exciting read created especially for young adults. This narrative has all of the elements necessary for an engaging storyline. Ms. Snow's character development, settings, rising and...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Elicia Hyder

    After writing eight Soul Summoner supernatural thrillers and two standalones, which have all drawn an astounding number of reader reviews on Amazon, the incomparable, blue-haired Elicia Hyder is writing a roller derby girl novel. Yes, you read that right....

  • Article: 2018 SARA Fiesta Medal Blog Hop (April 19-28)

    And the lucky winners are... The Night Owl Romance Winner - Susan Meek Maida Malby's Winner - Kim Hansen Emily Mims' Winner - Carol Gowett Willa Blair's Winner - Joann Downie Jolene Navarro's Winner - Nicky Ortiz Teri Wilson's Winner - Jenny Cloonan The ...

  • Review: REN: Awakened The REN Series, #1

    "REN: Awakened" starts out a very interesting young adult paranormal series. The main character is pretty much a loaner and people see her as being weird and psychiatric. I liked her as she was different than so many other teen characters. She's an orphan...

  • Review: Besphinxed A Nocturne Falls Universe Story

    Alethea Kontis takes us into a young adult story in "Besphinxed". This is a story set in the Nocturne Falls universe and involves Heather Hayden (witch) and Owen Liddell (cursed to be a cat shifter). They both are attending a magical high school and from...

  • Review: This Heart of Mine

    "This Heart of Mine" is a young-adult book about Leah MacKenzie—a dying girl who is surviving day-to-day with an artificial heart. When a heart becomes available, Leah is given a second chance at life, until she discovers who her donor is—Eric, some boy...

  • Review: Fire and Bone

    "Fire and Bone" is an urban fantasy book about Sage, an eighteen-year-old girl who gets invited to a party, which results in her whole life changing. But is it for the better? Or worse? I don’t want to give too much away, but I’m in LOVE with this book!...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Rachel A. Marks

    Hi Rachel! Thanks for stopping over to chat about your latest book "Fire and Bone" as well as your life. What's your book about? This story is a bit like Percy Jackson meets Gossip Girls in the grit and glam of LA. The main character, Sage, is not exactly...

  • Article: Winners: Tea Party & Books 2018

    This Event is Now Over. Winners list below! Thanks to all the authors and readers who came and had such fun finding romance books! We love you all. THE SPONSORS Print This List and Mark Down The Ones You Want! [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] Dani Harper Christina...

  • Review: An Unstill Life

    Livvie made me want to cry. To be so young she had so much going on in her life. So much guilt, pain, responsibility, fear and most of it shouldn’t have even been put on her. Her mother tried her best but I personally thought she could have tried harder....

  • Review: The Rogue Queen The Hundredth Queen Series Book 3

    If you think this book is the end you’re in for a surprised! There is going to be a book 4 in the Hundredth Queen series!! I can't tell you how excited I am! “The Rogue Queen” was amazing. If I had to choose which has been my favorite, this would be my...

  • Review: The Upside of Falling Down

    "The Upside of Falling Down" is about Clementine Haas, the lone survivor of a plane crash who wakes up with complete amnesia in Ireland. As she starts to regain her memories, she struggles with her old and new self. The setting was one of my favorite...

  • Review: Sinless Eye of the Beholder, #1

    “Sinless” grabbed me from the first few pages. Within the pages is a wonderful fantasy that I just couldn't put down. It has a great blend of fantasy and a dystopian setting that is perfect for young adult readers. I really can't wait to read the next...

  • Review: White Knights The White Knights Series Book 1

    "White Knights" is the first book in a new series. It is a YA spin off of the popular Lexi Carmichael mystery series and like that series the main character is a female geek. Angel is the ultimate geek and is absolutely perfect for the main character...

  • Article: C.C. Hunter, I See Dead People #LettersFromtheAuthors #ReaderGiveaway

    Dear Reader, Have you ever had the hairs on the back of your neck go up, felt someone staring, or just sensed someone standing behind you and yet, when you turned around, no one was there? Have you ever had a strange dream or maybe just saw a flash of...

  • Article: Winners: Winter Wonderland Reader Scavenger Hunt 2017

    This event is now over. Thanks to all of those readers who entered. A winners list is down the page. The holidays are here and presents abound. It's time to get a hunting and find some great books. Plus get entered to win awesome Amazon cards. Join the...

  • Review: Spartan Heart Mythos Academy spinoff Book 1

    Jennifer Estep transports readers into a new spinoff series in "Spartan Heart". It all began with the Mythos Academy series and book one "Touch of Frost". In that book we met Gwen Frost and followed her adventures against mythical creatures and power...

There are 1,648 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles