• Article: Monday Chat June 4, 2018 - Heather Long and Cassandra Chandler

    Most Monday evenings we host one hour events in our chat room. Events Start at 8pm Eastern Most go for around 1 hour Calculate Your Time NEXT EVENT JUNE 4, 2018   Heather Long  & Cassandra Chandler GET A CHAT REMINDER! Chat: 1 Hour Visit...

  • Article: Summer Fun 2018

    div.navbar-fixed-top + div.container{ display:none; } UNDER CONSTRUCTION It's feeling HOT in here! Who's ready for the Summer Fun Reader Scavenger Hunt? We've got some fabulous books and prizes to share with y'all. It's time to find some beach reads to...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Elicia Hyder

    After writing eight Soul Summoner supernatural thrillers and two standalones, which have all drawn an astounding number of reader reviews on Amazon, the incomparable, blue-haired Elicia Hyder is writing a roller derby girl novel. Yes, you read that right....

  • Article: 2018 SARA Fiesta Medal Blog Hop (April 19-28)

    And the lucky winners are... The Night Owl Romance Winner - Susan Meek Maida Malby's Winner - Kim Hansen Emily Mims' Winner - Carol Gowett Willa Blair's Winner - Joann Downie Jolene Navarro's Winner - Nicky Ortiz Teri Wilson's Winner - Jenny Cloonan The ...

  • Article: Release Schedule

    This is a listing or romance and young adult book releases.

  • Review: Besphinxed A Nocturne Falls Universe Story

    Alethea Kontis takes us into a young adult story in "Besphinxed". This is a story set in the Nocturne Falls universe and involves Heather Hayden (witch) and Owen Liddell (cursed to be a cat shifter). They both are attending a magical high school and from...

  • Review: This Heart of Mine

    "This Heart of Mine" is a young-adult book about Leah MacKenzie—a dying girl who is surviving day-to-day with an artificial heart. When a heart becomes available, Leah is given a second chance at life, until she discovers who her donor is—Eric, some boy...

  • Review: Fire and Bone

    "Fire and Bone" is an urban fantasy book about Sage, an eighteen-year-old girl who gets invited to a party, which results in her whole life changing. But is it for the better? Or worse? I don’t want to give too much away, but I’m in LOVE with this book!...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Rachel A. Marks

    Hi Rachel! Thanks for stopping over to chat about your latest book "Fire and Bone" as well as your life. What's your book about? This story is a bit like Percy Jackson meets Gossip Girls in the grit and glam of LA. The main character, Sage, is not exactly...

  • Article: Winners: Tea Party & Books 2018

    This Event is Now Over. Winners list below! Thanks to all the authors and readers who came and had such fun finding romance books! We love you all. THE SPONSORS Print This List and Mark Down The Ones You Want! [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] Dani Harper Christina...

  • Review: An Unstill Life

    Livvie made me want to cry. To be so young she had so much going on in her life. So much guilt, pain, responsibility, fear and most of it shouldn’t have even been put on her. Her mother tried her best but I personally thought she could have tried harder....

  • Review: The Rogue Queen The Hundredth Queen Series Book 3

    If you think this book is the end you’re in for a surprised! There is going to be a book 4 in the Hundredth Queen series!! I can't tell you how excited I am! “The Rogue Queen” was amazing. If I had to choose which has been my favorite, this would be my...

  • Review: The Upside of Falling Down

    "The Upside of Falling Down" is about Clementine Haas, the lone survivor of a plane crash who wakes up with complete amnesia in Ireland. As she starts to regain her memories, she struggles with her old and new self. The setting was one of my favorite...

  • Review: Sinless Eye of the Beholder, #1

    “Sinless” grabbed me from the first few pages. Within the pages is a wonderful fantasy that I just couldn't put down. It has a great blend of fantasy and a dystopian setting that is perfect for young adult readers. I really can't wait to read the next...

  • Review: White Knights The White Knights Series Book 1

    "White Knights" is the first book in a new series. It is a YA spin off of the popular Lexi Carmichael mystery series and like that series the main character is a female geek. Angel is the ultimate geek and is absolutely perfect for the main character...

  • Article: C.C. Hunter, I See Dead People #LettersFromtheAuthors #ReaderGiveaway

    Dear Reader, Have you ever had the hairs on the back of your neck go up, felt someone staring, or just sensed someone standing behind you and yet, when you turned around, no one was there? Have you ever had a strange dream or maybe just saw a flash of...

  • Article: Winners: Winter Wonderland Reader Scavenger Hunt 2017

    This event is now over. Thanks to all of those readers who entered. A winners list is down the page. The holidays are here and presents abound. It's time to get a hunting and find some great books. Plus get entered to win awesome Amazon cards. Join the...

  • Review: Spartan Heart Mythos Academy spinoff Book 1

    Jennifer Estep transports readers into a new spinoff series in "Spartan Heart". It all began with the Mythos Academy series and book one "Touch of Frost". In that book we met Gwen Frost and followed her adventures against mythical creatures and power...

  • Article: Four Reasons Why You (Probably) Shouldn’t Bother Writing Short Stories

    I started my literary career writing short stories; thought that was my niche since I’ve got lots of ideas for which the short form is the perfect medium. Turns out short stories have their uses, but establishing your writing bona fides is not one...

  • Article: YA Holiday Reads - Melting Pot

    As we slide into the holiday season, I always head to the children’s section of my favorite bookseller. I usually strike up a conversation with the staff by introducing myself and telling them that I write this column. Then I ask: “What are...

  • Article: Exotiqa $25 Amazon Card and an eBook Giveaway From M Black

    This giveaway is now over. The lucky winner is: Maria Ivy Dalmau Open Worldwide. Contest Question: If robots develop a consciousness, is it okay to use them as servants? Exotiqa - Exotiqa World, #1 Buy Now ENTER TOMORROW A Robot Cyberpunk Dystopia...

  • Review: Flux Jaunter Chronicles Book 1

    "Flux" is an exciting tale about Addy Decker, a girl who once wanted to end it all, until she meets a beautiful boy in her bathroom. I have to say that this was a very thrilling and captivating read. It was very fast-paced, and had me glued to my seat...

  • Review: The November Girl

    "The November Girl" is about Anda, the daughter of lake. She is the November storm that protects the island near Lake Superior, terrifying sailors and sinking ships every November. Hector, a boy hiding from his family, winds up on the island, and a relationship...

  • Review: Haven

    "Haven" is about Rain Ryland, a tough, street smarts guy who loses his mother suddenly and has to move to a new city and live with an aunt he never knew existed. Once there, he meets and becomes captivated by a girl named Freddie, and his whole life changes....

  • Article: Reader PJ Party: (Dec 4) With Robin D. Owens, Elizabeth Hunter, Stanalei Fletcher and Josi S. Kilpack

    Date: Monday - December 4, 2017 Monday evening we have authors coming to chat with readers like you. Plus each has a special prize for a lucky active chatter. Come and join the fun. Chat with other readers and be apart of our community. We would love...

There are 1,641 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles