Featured Reviews

YA News by Night Owl Reviews

Win a Box of Books!

Enter to win an awesome box of books. Each month one lucky newsletter subscriber gets a treasure trove of books delivered right to their mailbox.


5 Copy YA Giveaway: It's All Fun and Games by Dave Barrett

Enter to win 1 of 5 copies of Nerdist book It's All Fun and Games!

***All contests and New is free***

Punishment Summer by Peggy Rothschild


Sixteen-year-old Nicki is sent to stay at her grandfather’s cabin near the town of Punishment in the Mendocino Forest. As always, she hides her burn scars and keeps quiet about the mother who ran out on her. But soon after arriving, she begins to suspect Grandpa is also keeping secrets. Her exile brings an unexpected bright spot—Grandpa’s German shepherd, Queenie. The hunky neighbor boy’s another plus, though she quickly starts to doubt his honesty.

From secret pot farms to human trafficking, Nicki discovers nothing in the ‘Mendo’ is what it seems. When Grandpa takes off and the lives of new friends are endangered, Nicki must decide how far she’s willing to go to protect those she cares about. Before summer ends, Nicki will learn there are some choices she can’t undo.

It’s a good thing Grandpa taught her how to shoot.

14+ due to adult situations

The Smell of Other People's Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock


In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Unforgiven by Lauren Kate


It's the book FALLEN fans have been waiting for: Cam’s story, the brooding, bad-boy dark angel readers love.

High school can be hell.

Cam knows what it’s like to be haunted. He’s spent more time in Hell than any angel ever should. And his freshest Hell is high school, where Lilith, the girl he can’t stop loving, is serving out a punishment for his crimes.

Cam made a bet with Lucifer: he has fifteen days to convince the only girl who really matters to him to love him again. If he succeeds, Lilith will be allowed back into the world, and they can live their lives together. But if he fails . . . there’s a special place in Hell just for him.

Tick-tock.

Spread your wings and cry as bad boy dark angel Cam finally reveals his anguished heart in the epic new FALLEN novel, UNFORGIVEN.

Age Range: 12 and up / Grade Level: 7 and up

Eerie Eerie Purchase

In Our Mailbox 7/12/16

These awesome print books provided by publishers and authors. Night Owl Reviews has hundreds of reviewers who each help give you a glimpse into the pages of books and into other products. We have around 26,000 reviews.

Tammie King unboxes the June 2016 Julep cosmetics subscription box.

Get your own box via our refer a friend link: http://refer.julep.com/v2/share/6306686734940851179