• Review: Fire and Bone

    "Fire and Bone" is an urban fantasy book about Sage, an eighteen-year-old girl who gets invited to a party, which results in her whole life changing. But is it for the better? Or worse? I don’t want to give too much away, but I’m in LOVE with this book!...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Rachel A. Marks

    Hi Rachel! Thanks for stopping over to chat about your latest book "Fire and Bone" as well as your life. What's your book about? This story is a bit like Percy Jackson meets Gossip Girls in the grit and glam of LA. The main character, Sage, is not exactly...

  • Review: The Rogue Queen The Hundredth Queen Series Book 3

    If you think this book is the end you’re in for a surprised! There is going to be a book 4 in the Hundredth Queen series!! I can't tell you how excited I am! “The Rogue Queen” was amazing. If I had to choose which has been my favorite, this would be my...

  • Review: The Upside of Falling Down

    "The Upside of Falling Down" is about Clementine Haas, the lone survivor of a plane crash who wakes up with complete amnesia in Ireland. As she starts to regain her memories, she struggles with her old and new self. The setting was one of my favorite...

  • Review: Sinless Eye of the Beholder, #1

    “Sinless” grabbed me from the first few pages. Within the pages is a wonderful fantasy that I just couldn't put down. It has a great blend of fantasy and a dystopian setting that is perfect for young adult readers. I really can't wait to read the next...

  • Review: White Knights The White Knights Series Book 1

    "White Knights" is the first book in a new series. It is a YA spin off of the popular Lexi Carmichael mystery series and like that series the main character is a female geek. Angel is the ultimate geek and is absolutely perfect for the main character...

  • Article: Tea Party & Books 2018

    a Rafflecopter giveaway It's a wonderful time of the year where we dream about all the great books we will read and add to our 2018 lists. Let us help you find some great authors and books to add to your To Be Read Pile. Plus along the way get entered...

  • Article: C.C. Hunter, I See Dead People #LettersFromtheAuthors #ReaderGiveaway

    Dear Reader, Have you ever had the hairs on the back of your neck go up, felt someone staring, or just sensed someone standing behind you and yet, when you turned around, no one was there? Have you ever had a strange dream or maybe just saw a flash of...

  • Article: Winners: Winter Wonderland Reader Scavenger Hunt 2017

    This event is now over. Thanks to all of those readers who entered. A winners list is down the page. The holidays are here and presents abound. It's time to get a hunting and find some great books. Plus get entered to win awesome Amazon cards. Join the...

  • Review: Spartan Heart Mythos Academy spinoff Book 1

    Jennifer Estep transports readers into a new spinoff series in "Spartan Heart". It all began with the Mythos Academy series and book one "Touch of Frost". In that book we met Gwen Frost and followed her adventures against mythical creatures and power...

  • Article: Four Reasons Why You (Probably) Shouldn’t Bother Writing Short Stories

    I started my literary career writing short stories; thought that was my niche since I’ve got lots of ideas for which the short form is the perfect medium. Turns out short stories have their uses, but establishing your writing bona fides is not one...

  • Article: YA Holiday Reads - Melting Pot

    As we slide into the holiday season, I always head to the children’s section of my favorite bookseller. I usually strike up a conversation with the staff by introducing myself and telling them that I write this column. Then I ask: “What are...

  • Article: Exotiqa $25 Amazon Card and an eBook Giveaway From M Black

    This giveaway is now over. The lucky winner is: Maria Ivy Dalmau Open Worldwide. Contest Question: If robots develop a consciousness, is it okay to use them as servants? Exotiqa - Exotiqa World, #1 Buy Now ENTER TOMORROW A Robot Cyberpunk Dystopia...

  • Review: Flux Jaunter Chronicles Book 1

    "Flux" is an exciting tale about Addy Decker, a girl who once wanted to end it all, until she meets a beautiful boy in her bathroom. I have to say that this was a very thrilling and captivating read. It was very fast-paced, and had me glued to my seat...

  • Review: The November Girl

    "The November Girl" is about Anda, the daughter of lake. She is the November storm that protects the island near Lake Superior, terrifying sailors and sinking ships every November. Hector, a boy hiding from his family, winds up on the island, and a relationship...

  • Review: Haven

    "Haven" is about Rain Ryland, a tough, street smarts guy who loses his mother suddenly and has to move to a new city and live with an aunt he never knew existed. Once there, he meets and becomes captivated by a girl named Freddie, and his whole life changes....

  • Article: Reader PJ Party: (Dec 4) With Robin D. Owens, Elizabeth Hunter, Stanalei Fletcher and Josi S. Kilpack

    Date: Monday - December 4, 2017 Monday evening we have authors coming to chat with readers like you. Plus each has a special prize for a lucky active chatter. Come and join the fun. Chat with other readers and be apart of our community. We would love...

  • Article: Black Friday Giveaway Book Bonanza Hop

    Hi Romance Readers! Thanks for stopping over for the 7th Annual Black Friday Book Bonanza hop. We have lots of blogs and websites on the hop. It's a pleasure to have you on our website. Night Owl Romance is a site for readers to find books and meet authors....

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Tenaya Jayne

    Hi Tenaya! Thanks for joining us and our readers. Please tell us all about your book "Fallen". Who doesn't love a bad boy? Erin, that's who. She's never met the famous Maddox, but she might be the only girl in Regia not in line for his attention. His...

  • Review: Leviathan

    "Leviathan" by Scott Westerfeld is the best Steampunk novel ever. The fact that it’s also Young Adult is an added bonus. In this story, there is an alternate historical moment that started World War 1. One side will fight the war with metal machines....

  • Review: Phoenix The Peradon Fantasy Series Book 1

    Princess Violetta of the flame realm is having difficulty dealing with her mother and brother's death. She's given to rebelling against her father, the King. When she meets Ryore of the Frost kingdom, the fire kingdom's enemy, she falls head over heals...

  • Article: Author Advice: “You’ve Got a Lot of Words, But What’s the Point?” Breaking Down What a Story Actually Is…And What It Isn’t by Shana Figueroa

    No writing workshop is complete without a definition of a story explained to the audience of aspiring authors. They come in flavors from simple to complicated, though I prefer the simple ones. A plot is not a story! A plot is a series of events that forms...

  • Review: One Foot in the Grave The Mortician’s Daughter, #1

    C. C. Hunter is back on the scene with a brand new supernatural mystery young adult novel. “One Foot in the Grave” starts a new series featuring Riley Smith. Riley is a teen without friends and her father is a Mortician. She lost her mother at the very...

  • Article: Aftermath by Sandy Goldsworthy - Romance Free Read

    Clean Teen Publishing and Sandy Goldsworthy bring to you a paranormal young adult tale. This romance free read starts you out on a series. After losing her father, Emma Bennett moves to her aunt’s small town of Westport to finish out her senior...

  • Article: Creeptastically Good Reading for October - Melting Pot

    It’s October!! Every year, I mention that October is one of my favorite months because it marks the coming of fall and the final slide into the holiday season. Soon the leaves will change from greens to reds and oranges, the air will be heavy with...

There are 1,634 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles