• Review: Spartan Heart Mythos Academy spinoff Book 1

    Jennifer Estep transports readers into a new spinoff series in "Spartan Heart". It all began with the Mythos Academy series and book one "Touch of Frost". In that book we met Gwen Frost and followed her adventures against mythical creatures and power...

  • Review: Flux Jaunter Chronicles Book 1

    "Flux" is an exciting tale about Addy Decker, a girl who once wanted to end it all, until she meets a beautiful boy in her bathroom. I have to say that this was a very thrilling and captivating read. It was very fast-paced, and had me glued to my seat...

  • Review: The November Girl

    "The November Girl" is about Anda, the daughter of lake. She is the November storm that protects the island near Lake Superior, terrifying sailors and sinking ships every November. Hector, a boy hiding from his family, winds up on the island, and a relationship...

  • Review: Haven

    "Haven" is about Rain Ryland, a tough, street smarts guy who loses his mother suddenly and has to move to a new city and live with an aunt he never knew existed. Once there, he meets and becomes captivated by a girl named Freddie, and his whole life changes....

  • Review: Leviathan

    "Leviathan" by Scott Westerfeld is the best Steampunk novel ever. The fact that it’s also Young Adult is an added bonus. In this story, there is an alternate historical moment that started World War 1. One side will fight the war with metal machines....

  • Review: Phoenix The Peradon Fantasy Series Book 1

    Princess Violetta of the flame realm is having difficulty dealing with her mother and brother's death. She's given to rebelling against her father, the King. When she meets Ryore of the Frost kingdom, the fire kingdom's enemy, she falls head over heals...

  • Review: One Foot in the Grave The Mortician’s Daughter, #1

    C. C. Hunter is back on the scene with a brand new supernatural mystery young adult novel. “One Foot in the Grave” starts a new series featuring Riley Smith. Riley is a teen without friends and her father is a Mortician. She lost her mother at the very...

  • Review: The Thing with Feathers

    It’s become very hit and miss when it comes to my liking of contemporary novels. I have to say “The Thing with Feathers” was a successful hit out of the park! It started off so funny and held that until the very last chapters. This book will rip your...

  • Review: Priestess A Modern Greek Myth Book 2

    I normally adore novels about the Greek Gods and their ploys in the lives of mortals. Priestess is a novel similar to this. Sadly, I found it lacking. The story has a lot of promise, but is sadly disjointed and uninformative. I am aware there is a book...

  • Review: Donna The Girls of Spindrift Book 2

    "Donna" is the second book in the Spindrift Series by the famous V.C. Andrews. The series started out with "Corliss". This story runs at a good clip and the suspense builds as the pages are turned. Your heart will begin to hurt for Donna. She is attending...

  • Review: In 27 Days

    “In 27 Days” is a fast paced story that has the reader flipping through the pages. Hadley has made a deal with Death! She is going to go back in time to stop a classmate from killing himself. I was swept up into the drama of this book and how Hadley goes...

  • Review: Solo

    Well, I need to learn to read it seems. When I grabbed “Solo” for review, I didn't read the full blurb and details. I didn't see where it said this book was in poetic style. Go me! Well, I am kind of glad I didn't see that this was written like that....

  • Review: All Things New

    All Things New started out a little slow for me but once I got to page 8 it picked up. I was caught in the story of this girl who had a horrible experience and then went through the thought “Am I crazy?” She saw things others didn't, she felt things others...

  • Review: Paper and Fire The Great Library, #2

    “Paper and Fire” by Rachel Caine takes up where “Ink and Bone” left off, immersing the reader back in the complicated world ruled by the Library and those who oversee it. The surprising revelation on the first page was a welcome discovery and it intensifies...

  • Review: Corliss The Girls of Spindrift Book 1

    I liked that this was a quick read, primarily aimed at YA but a good read for anyone. I felt that it was a background of sorts for getting to know the characters going into the book “Bittersweet Dreams”. This is the first book in a series that sets up...

  • Review: Shadowcaster Shattered Realms, #2

    “Shadowcaster” has a perfect blend of action, characters, battles and omg cliffhangers!!! So be warned! If you loved book one you WILL die hard love this story! It doesn't pick up where book one ends off. I won't tell you any more than that. Overall,...

  • Review: Steeplejack A Steeplejack novel, #1

    I am always on the lookout for something new and man is “Steeplejack” it! I am so excited in finding this wild and very creative as well as different story. “Steeplejack” is full of mystery, action, and some very diverse characters. This story hit it...

  • Review: Firebrand A Steeplejack novel, #2

    If you thought book one was good then you are going to die when you read “Firebrand”, book two!!! This book has it all. Get ready for phenomenal world building, wonderful characters, and great pacing! This is another great story that I couldn't put down....

  • Review: Remember Me Forever Lovely Vicious Book 3

    "Remember Me Forever" is the third and final book in the Lovely Vicious series. I have to say that this was an amazing, mind-blowing conclusion. When I first read the series, it was independently published, and I loved it. And now that I read it again,...

  • Review: Garden of Thorns

    "Garden of Thorns" is about Rose, a girl who spent seven years in the Garden, which is a burlesque group made up of slave girls. When she finally escapes, she brings along a hostage. A hostage that is the former heir to the throne, and now leading a rebellion...

  • Review: Operation Prom Date

    Kate is in love with a popular quarterback and she wanted to take him to prom. And for that she needed help. And Cooper needs a rowing partner since his original partner broke his arm. Cooper agrees to help Kate with getting Mick to go to prom with her...

  • Review: The Breaking Light Split City Book 1

    I just wasn't able to finish "The Breaking Light". I got to around 20%. It just didn't work out for me at all. The book started out with the MC being held at knife point by her future love. And that was wonderful..............until.......she couldn't...

  • Review: The Hundredth Queen The Hundredth Queen Series Book 1

    “The Hundredth Queen” is a young adult fantasy. It was beyond fantastic! I wasn't too sure about it when I started, but shortly in, I knew I was going to die hard love it. So I know what you are thinking…why the 4 stars. Although this book has beautiful,...

  • Review: Refuge for Masterminds A Stranje House Novel, #3

    Can I scream? YES, YES AND YES this is the story I have been waiting for. Man I really don’t want the Stranje House series to end! I really love how these books have different points of view. You don’t miss anything as the series goes along its way. I...

  • Review: The Romeo Catchers The Casquette Girls Series Book 2

    “The Romeo Catchers” is a great sequel to the The Casquette Girls series. It’s been a while since I read book one so I had to look up what it was about as I didn't remember. And I just didn't have the time to reread book one. This second book was really...

There are 1,400 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles