• Review: The Trouble with Destiny

    Petty Drama is the main theme of this book folks! I thought I was going to fall in love with this story set on the water. But I found out that that was just not going to be the case. If you loved the authors other book, Meant to Be with its funny humor...

  • Review: Placebo Junkies

    Man how to review Placebo Junkies. In some places I really liked the story and in others the MC was kind of unreliable and meh. Audie tends to ramble a LOT where one second she will be talking about one topic then boom were on to something new. It made...

  • Review: Unforgiven Fallen, #5

    I haven’t been that much of a fan of this series and with the ending of book 4 I wasn't too sure about this one. But with the movie coming out shortly I knew that I would need to revisit this world of fallen angels. This new story finds us in Cam's POV...

  • Review: Finding Perfect

    Finding Perfect is beautiful story about young love, coming of age and finding your way regardless of the obstacles. It is a rich girl-poor boy story and I absolutely love books with that theme. The story can be divided into two parts. In the first part...

  • Review: Nexis

    This book reminded me of another book called Elusion, where people go to a virtual world to escape. This book was pretty inventive and really felt like a wonderful blend of cyborg tech and a girl who is all natural. In the world, everyone dreams of being...

  • Review: Imperfect

    Let me just say that I am sure this is a good story. I liked what of this book I read and the only major flaw I had with it is NOT something that is “wrong” with the book. I am not saying that at all. I mean, I was annoyed by the gigantic info-dump about...

  • Review: Fairly Certain Love Of Fairs, #1

    Okay, I admit it. I am a huge fan of Renaissance Fairs, and love to dress up and act in them. Therefore, I had no doubt in my mind that I would adore this novel. I can assure you that I most certainly did thoroughly enjoy it. I found this novel to be...

  • Review: Falling For the Wrong Guy

    Teenagers are more likely to do stupid things without thinking about consequences. Both characters of this novel did such things. They fell for one another knowing that they are off limits. From the very beginning it was interesting to see how Ruby Davis...

  • Review: A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

    This book was the Lake House - for kids! Just like in that book, the two people are from two different times and, in this story, two different places. It was a great story about magic, friendship, and adventure. Without giving too much away, this one...

  • Article: Top 7 Times and Places I’d Visit by Renee Collins

    I got my degree in History, so this question is fun, but difficult for me. Fun, because I’ve already given it quite a bit of thought. Difficult, because there are so many historical eras and places that I would love to visit. So, without further...

  • Article: Alexis Wyndham’s Five Rules for Surviving Homecoming by Crista McHugh +Excerpt + Giveaway

    1.       Don’t go . Seriously. It’s just a stupid dance where you’ll have to drop $200 on a dress you’ll only wear once and that six other girls will be wearing. Retro shops are cool for finding something...

  • Review: Dangerous Lies

    Another book by Becca Fitzpatrick? Yes please! I read and loved Hush, Hush (I still need to finish the series), so I was super excited to read a new book by her. I'm mostly into fantasy books but this one was good! The characters were good and the descriptions...

  • Review: The August 5

    The August 5 had a lot going for it. It has some great topic starters about colonization and conquering. The only issue I had was that the book was fairly slow and that the female characters had more depth vs the male characters. The story itself had...

  • Article: Homeschooling 16-Year-Old Dreams Big, Becomes Author - Claire Fraise

    Today we have the pleasure of having Claire Fraise on to chat about dreaming big and going out and making your dreams a reality. Claire if just sixteen and already has her first book on bookshelves. Way to go Claire. Dream big and make your American dream...

  • Review: A Song for Ella Grey

    At first I didn't realize this was a re-telling of Orpheus and Eurydice. I ended up having to Google it. I honestly really didn't connect with the characters. Ella was a bit annoying in the beginning. The story felt very poetic and the some of the things...

  • Review: To Stand Beside Her

    I liked the story concept in To Stand Beside Her. I loved Nalik. He is kind, patient and not what you would expect. He has accepted his fate and the way he opened his heart to Anatolio, Phillip, Ruth and Tim was amazing. His love for Leila was beautiful....

  • Review: Unspoken Shadow Falls: After Dark, #3

    With CC Hunter, there is not a book that she writes that isn't downright AMAZING. Unspoken, third book in the After Dark series, is a thrill seekers dream. With non-stop action, heart pounding adrenaline and romance around every corner, this book is a...

  • Review: What We Left Behind

    Toni and Gretchen are the two main and wonderful characters that lie within What We Left Behind. The book focusses on Toni as we see her struggles as she identifies as genderqueer. This was such an interesting book to read. For those who have never read...

  • Article: Exclusive Excerpt: Girl Divided Two by Suzie T. Roos

    Join us today as we share an exclusive excerpt to Suzie T. Roo's second book in her Spoken For series. As an author, it’s not always fun and games when writing a novel. We have those scenes we hate to write. Yes, we don’t always love every...

  • Review: Rogue The Paladin Prophecy, #3

    There were a lot of reader expectations that went into book three (Rogue) of the Paladin Prophecy. I wish I can say that I was excited and pleased with this one, since it is the last--but I wasn't. There wasn't much to Rogue that left me wanting to keep...

  • Review: The Edge

    The Edge by Roland Smith is the long awaited sequel to PEAK. The Edge has lived up to its wait. With high intense adventure and action, this book is sure to please any action thriller fan! Following the story of Peak the book opens with quick action and...

  • Review: Justice The Warrior, #5

    This is the final book in Rebecca Royce’s outstanding urban fantasy series, The Warriors. This book is intense and will take you on an emotional roller coaster. I had to walk away from reading it a couple of times due to it just being too much which is...

  • Review: Velvet Undercover

    Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown is an amazing Young Adult story about an intelligent young British girl who is sent on her first spy mission to Germany during World War II. Her assignment is to help rescue a spy known as Velvet but no one knows the spy’s...

  • Article: Affiliate Promo

    Like our Facebook Page so we tag you when we promote your books. To purchase the promos below you must fit into one of these categories in the last 30 days . NOR Reviewer NOR Columnist Given a 20% Off Coupon Charitable Cause Book Bewitching Book Tours...

  • Review: Subversive The Warrior, #3

    This is the third book in a unique urban fantasy. The main character is a teenager with big ideas and leaderships skills. She, however, sees herself as a medium warrior and not very pretty. However, she attracts male attention wherever she goes. This...

There are 1,626 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles