• Review: Seven Black Diamonds

    Seven Black Diamonds is a book I was so happy to receive. I was a diehard fan of the Wicked Lovely series so when I found this I jumped on ship and hoped to be blown away! But, unfortunately this happy cruise didn’t last long. Shortly into the story I...

  • Review: A Daring Sacrifice

    I was super happy to find to A Daring Sacrifice on my list. So first off this is not really a book two. It’s a companion to book one, An Uncertain Choice. So if you haven't read book one don't worry about it, you won't be lost. That being said you should...

  • Review: Love Me, Love Me Not

    Well written with an interesting premise and lovely prose. I adored Pierce and I loved the relationship between him and Ana and how sweet and beautiful it was. But honestly, none of it balanced out the frustration for me. There was just way too much rank...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Rachel Harris

    Readers, today we have Rachel Harris joining us. Her latest book is You're Still the One. Rachel, what's the book about? YOU’RE STILL THE ONE is a romantic comedy about a fresh-out-of-college woman with a daring summer bucket list and a desire to prove...

  • Article: Giveaway: The Affiliate by K.A. Linde

    Dates: 2/21/2016 - 3/21/2016 Prize: $25 Amazon Gift Card Open To: Open International The Affiliate - Ascension Book 1 On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, seventeen-year-old Cyrene Strohm's lifelong plans come to fruition...

  • Review: The Yearbook

    The Yearbook, by Carol Masciola, is an intriguing book. Lola Lundy is a fabulous character who all can relate to. She wants a place to fit in and finds it, in the past. The description of a past visit draws one in and holds you. Each and every one of...

  • Review: Tarnished

    Tarnished, the sequel to Perfected, is set in a world where the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets. It continues Ella’s story and starts off right where Perfected left off, where Ella’s escaping...

  • Review: These Shallow Graves

    THESE SHALLOW GRAVES by Jennifer Donnelly is shrouded in mystery and deception. If you think you know what's happening, you're very wrong. Jo Montfort comes from a privileged, upper class family. She enjoys writing interesting stories like Nellie Bly,...

  • Review: Twenty-One Heroes

    Twenty-One Heroes is a pretty fast read. It’s a great book for teens to get interested in the Revolutionary War time period. Reading this made me want to look up a ton of stuff that was in this book, especially Dr. Joseph Warren. The characters were pretty...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Sam Forman

    Today we have Sam Forman joining us. Sam's book Twenty-One Heroes is a young adult historical fiction Novel. Thanks for joining us Sam. Tell us about Twenty-One Heroes! Outspoken Katherine, elder daughter of a Salem shopkeeper, supports the patriot cause...

  • Article: Giveaway: Eerie by C.M. McCoy

    Dates: 2/8/2016 - 3/18/2016 Prize: Enter to win a Kindle 6" or $50 Amazon Gift Card Open To: International Eerie - Eerie, #1 Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life vivid....

  • Review: Almost Midnight Shadow Falls: After Dark - Novella Collection

    Are you a fan of the Shadow Falls series? Well if you are then you shouldn’t pass this book up! Now it did have one a complete new POV from a character in the stories. I won't tell you who so not to spoil it, but just so you know you’re going to love...

  • Review: Shallow Graves

    What would you do if you woke up one night to a man digging you out of a grave? What if the evil inside him compelled you to drain him of his life force before you could comprehend what you were doing? If you are Breezy, a teenager whose life was stolen...

  • Article: Giveaway: Feedback by D. L. Richardson

    Prize: Win this awesome YA spy adventure novel, 1 print copy to be won, Open International Dates: 1/23/2016 - 3/30/2016 Feedback Seventeen year old Ethan James can’t bear the boring life he’s living while waiting for a kidney transplant. When...

  • Review: Benjamin Franklin Huge Pain in my...

    This irreverent children’s book gives a remarkable glimpse of the events of colonial America, contrasted with a humorous look at the angst and challenges of being a boy dealing with peer pressure, a blended family, and the blush of first romance. I love...

  • Review: Punishment Summer

    Punishment Summer is about a city girl, Nicki, who gets sent away to stay at her grandpa’s cabin in a town called Punishment in the Mendocino Forest because of her out-of-control behavior—drinking alcohol and sneaking out of the house. Throughout the...

  • Review: Identity Crisis

    Identity Crisis is a cute fun read about how school rumors can shape the school year. From the web to word of mouth so much can change when you’re spreading it around. This book is told in alternating POVs from the mean girls as well as the POV of the...

  • Review: Macbeth #killingit OMG Shakespeare

    Courtney Carbone has taken the backbone of William Shakespeare’s Macbeth storyline and “killed it” by putting it into text messages style of speech used on social media sites such as Twitter. She also does not use any of Shakespeare’s style of writing:...

  • Review: A Midsummer Night #nofilter OMG Shakespeare

    Like a similar book in series, Courtney Carbone’s Macbeth #killing it, I did earlier this month; this story is written in text messages that are used on social media web sites. Because Brett Wright used the previous style of writing, this story has lost...

  • Review: The Golden Yarn Mirrorworld, #3

    So when The Golden Yarn showed up on my list of books I FREAKED OUT!! I didn’t even know that a new book was coming out! Night Owl Reviews saw my prior reviews for this series and new I would want this. When it showed up and I saw that it was a bound...

  • Review: Before Goodbye

    Let me just start by saying I'm a sucker for contemporary YA--with that being said, it should be no surprise that I loved Before Goodbye! What a heart wrenching and warming story Mimi Cross has weaved together. Both Cate and David struggle with their...

  • Article: The Hardest Part of Writing by Matthew J Metzger + Excerpt

    The hardest part of writing is deleting. Not editing. Deleting. When big chunks need to come out -- entire chapters, long scenes, entire character arcs. When they need to come out, it's heartbreaking. This doesn't happen to me often -- I'm a plotter,...

  • Review: Thicker Than Water

    In Thicker Than Water inner monologue and mystery are the two main themes of this book. Both are done very well. I didn’t see the ending coming and the resolution to the master blew me away! Normally I realize what’s going on far before we find out, but...

  • Article: Giveaway: Eerie by CM McCoy

    Dates: 12/15/2015 - 1/31/2015 Prize: $20 Gift Card Open International Eerie Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life vivid. When her big sister goes missing, eighteen-year-old Hailey...

  • Review: Awaited Wasteland #2

    I really enjoyed this book - more than I expected to, actually. I expected something a bit more fluffy (not that fluffy is bad), but this was much grittier than I expected (in a good way). There's sacrifice and decisions to be made, and none of it is...

There are 1,626 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles