• Review: Shining Sea

    This book comes with a CLIFFHANGER!!!! But don’t let that steer you away from this book. I wanted to get that out there right now as I’ve seen this showcased as a standalone novel. So go into this knowing you won’t get all your answers and will NEED the...

  • Review: The Safest Lies

    “The Safest Lies” was a weird book to me. I can’t even imagine living with my mother knowing she was a survivor of a kidnapping. The things that Kelsey had to go through are unfathomable. Kelsey's life is turned upside down when she comes home and finds...

  • Review: Losing Gabriel A Love Story

    “Losing Gabriel” is such a great story! It’s been so hit and miss on contemporary, but this was a hit! This book tells the story of three very different characters. Each telling is told alone then they intertwine into one great story! Each character deals...

  • Review: Never Missing, Never Found

    Amanda knows how to spin a story and I’m glad I continue to read her stories. I was excited when I read the back cover of “Never Missing, Never Found”, but I was a little weary when I got the book and realized it’s the same author that wrote “Damage Done”....

  • Article: C.M. McCoy's $50 Amazon Card & Sterling Silver Claddagh Ring

    Don't miss out on Eerie! Eerie - Eerie, #1 Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her nightmares follow her into her waking life. When her big sister goes missing, eighteen-year-old Hailey finds the only thing keeping her...

  • Article: 5 Copy YA Giveaway: It's All Fun and Games by Dave Barrett

    Nerdist is offering 5 lucky Night Owl Teen readers a copy of Dave's book! This looks like a really great YA fantasy. It's All Fun and Games "What would I do if my favorite fantasy world came to life? It’s a question every nerd has asked him...

  • Review: Graduation Day The Testing, #3

    Graduation Day is the third and final book in Joelle Charbonneau’s The Testing series. It’s always bittersweet when a beloved series comes to an end, especially when you are not ready for such an ending. The events of the third book follow the same path...

  • Review: Life After Juliet

    “Life After Juliet” is about a girl named Becca, who was a loner until she met her friend Charlotte, who suddenly passes away. Devastated and filled with grief, Becca doesn’t want to move on and heal at first, but then with help of unexpected events and...

  • Review: Invision Chronicles of Nick, #7

    This series is so beyond amazing. I’m kind of scared that for us older fans who love both this YA series and the original Dark Hunter series. How will the two ever connect? Or if they ever will? “Invision” is by far my favorite. Being in Nick's head is...

  • Article: Excerpt: Runes of Fate by Lena North

    Runes of Fate - Sissa Raudulfsdatter Book 1 It's the annual midwinter gathering, and Sissa Raudulfsdatter is locked into a shed – bound, gagged and waiting to be led out to the altar where she will be sacrificed. There has never been any human sacrifice...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Lena North

    Hi Lena. Thanks for joining us today. Please tell us about your latest book, "Runes of Fate". What's your book about? Runes of Fate blends a classic murder mystery with everyday life in a Viking village, but it's also a story about freedom, and wanting...

  • Review: Supremacy Supremacy, #1

    “Supremacy” started out good with Kate being this semi-naive girl who loved nature and was willing to help a guy out when his bike broke down. Then as it went on I got extremely irritated with Kate and the things she did. She’s supposed to be this super...

  • Review: Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale

    Well I was kind of disappointed with Risuko. It’s much closer to Middle Grade vs Teen YA. The first part of the book was very confusing, but it did get better. Reading about a different culture was great. So many people have done so many things. Learning...

  • Article: Hannah Jayne and Kara Terzis on Places to Write Thrillers

    Summer is here. School is out. If you are looking for a way to keep your heart rate up while relaxing poolside or on the beach we suggest some heart-pounding young adult thrillers. To give use a little sneak peek into the life of thriller author, Sourcebooks...

  • Review: Independent Study The Testing, #2

    Independent Study is the second book in Joelle Charbonneau’s The Testing series. It’s my pleasure to report that this is no sophomore slump story. In fact, I enjoyed this storyline better than the first book because there was no time wasted on being slowly...

  • Review: The Hidden Oracle The Trials of Apollo, #1

    Alright, so I should have known that this was another spin off. Ya - shoot me. This is the first book in The Trials of Apollo series, but it doesn’t stand alone. So luckily my 11 year old had already read the other books by Rick Riordan and loved them,...

  • Review: Beware That Girl

    I was so excited to get this book from both BEA and Night Owl Reviews. But what I found was a book that was way different than I thought it was going to be. “Beware That Girl” is full of abuse and it seems that that is the main plot. Almost all the characters...

  • Article: Tracy Deebs' on If you could have any superpower what would it be and why? + Giveaway

    I spent most of my childhood wanting to be Wonder Woman. I loved her invisible jet, her lasso of truth, her bullet-deflecting bracelets and—of course—her kick butt red boots. Oh, and I also loved how she could spin in a circle and go from...

  • Review: A Spy in the House The Agency Mysteries, #1

    Set in Victorian London this captivating new series features a young woman, Mary Quinn, who is saved from the gallows when she is just twelve years old and becomes a member of a secret woman’s detective agency. How Mary found herself in such dire circumstances...

  • Review: Original Fake

    Kirstin Cronn-Mills has a great mixture of words and graphics in, Original Fake. I expected something that looked more like a comic book, but was pleasantly surprised by the illustrations, binding and high quality overall. The pictures blended so well...

  • Review: The Society

    “The Society” is about a girl named Samantha, who’s been bulled by her ex best-friend and Queen Bee, Jessica, for the last three years because her father went to jail for insider trading. To get revenge, Samantha wants to bring down Jessica and her elite...

  • Review: Marked Sequel to Tracked

    OMG OMG OMG!! How I haven't read this series before now is beyond me!! Book one is Tracked and Marked is the sequel. The covers are not the greatest, if you ask me, but I'm a diehard fan of this series now!!! Marked has got to be one of the best YA books...

  • Review: Wishing Day Book 1

    I wanted to love this book so much! But the story was just all over the place. Nothing really seemed to have an order and the story was just so confusing because of it. “Wishing Day” started out so charming with a premise that sounded so cute and interesting....

  • Review: Contact

    “Contact” is about a girl named Mira who has tried to commit suicide twice because of the grief that comes along with her gift of being able to read other people’s psyches upon skin contact. While dealing with that her father and his company is under...

  • Review: Exile for Dreamers A Stranje House Novel, #2

    Although I do miss Georgie's POV I have to say that I did enjoy Tess's. I really love how the author sets up the next book by introducing us to the new romance. It’s PERFECT, I really can't wait to be in Jane's POV! With her witty comebacks, I'm sure...

There are 1,626 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles