• Review: Summer Romance Harbor Moon, #1

    Deanna Langsford is an ordinary 16 year old who isn’t looking forward to spending another boring summer with her parents. While she’s been to the two hundred twenty-one acre Leech Lake so many times before, she knows the area well. But this...

  • Review: Summer Romance Harbor Moon, #1

    Summer Romance is the first book in the Harbor Moon series. It is also the first book by Traci Mitchell. It's a novella that is close to short story length. It is a well written book that brings something interesting to the young adult genre. Deanna is...

  • Interview: Tamazon Interviews Shawna Romkey

    Current Release: Speak of the Devil Describe your current release in two sentences? Speak of the Devil is a young adult paranormal romance focusing on Lily, who suffers a tragedy which causes her to question herself and her faith. At her new school she...

  • Article: Meeting the Authors of the Dark Day Tour

    On Saturday I got to meet with an awesome group of authors. Debra Driza , Claudia Gray , Lauren Oliver , Dan Wells , and Kiersten White stopped at the Tualatin, Oregon library as part of their Dark Days Tour. I got to have a private pre-event meeting...

  • Review: Hysteria

    I really wanted to like, no, love, Hysteria. The summary oozed mystery, intrigue, murder, and an unreliable narrator, my favorite for mystery novels. Instead what I received is insta-love not two months after Mallory murdered her ex-boyfriend in apparent...

  • Review: Neferet's Curse House of Night Novella

    It was hard to imagine ever sympathizing with the most hated character of the House of Night series, yet somehow the Cast's have done just that with Neferet, or previously known as, Emily. Two feelings were battling in my mind while reading Neferet's...

  • Review: Orleans

    Orleans is that very special blend between fiction and scary as all get out reality. This fast paced, adrenaline packed book will leave you wondering if maybe this is the way our world is headed. Fen knows how to survive in the Delta. She has had to grow...

  • Review: The Girl and the Dragon

    I loved this book! Alice M. Roelke really brought my heart into this beautiful story. Hasn't every young girl dreamed of "shape shifting," and either being able to have as a companion, or shift into a giant winged draconic beauty? This story takes the...

  • Review: Girls' Night Out Faeriewalker Novella

    For starters: I've been wanting to read a book by Jenna Black for a while now. So, I thought: why not start with a short story? You can get a taste for her writing, and if it's not to my taste at least it won't last long. Well, I was pretty disappointed...

  • Review: Every Day

    Every Day is a real life-enhancer. It lets you live through people from different cultures and backgrounds. That's more enlightening than you might think. At least it was for me. The main character is an amazing person with a great heart. I wouldn't change...

  • Review: Of Poseidon The Syrena Legacy, #1

    Anna FREAKING Banks, WHERE have you been all my life? One thing is for certain: the YA authors these days have a LOT to live up to. The good news is, we have authors like Anna Banks for that. Within the first few pages, the main characters' friend gets...

  • Review: Parallel Visions A Teen Psychic Novel, #1

    I was excited to read this book because I found the concept intriguing. Kate has psychic visions when she has an asthma attack and in one of those visions she witnesses her sister's murder. Kate and her friend Gil, who believes her visions are true since...

  • Review: Eleanor & Park

    Even though Eleanor & Park has been blurbed by my literary young adult romantic genius Stephanie Perkins, don't set out expecting this to be the same. It's a gritty, raw, all-encompassing love story of two teens eons wiser than their years. Red-headed...

  • Review: Green Angel Green Angel, #1

    A very odd, very short little story, and aside from the obvious 'time heals most' message, it's kind of sweet.  It is nice metaphor for the message, and the imagery is good, but there's so little of it, I'm not sure what to say about it.

  • Review: Where She Went

    I'd like to begin by saying that I LOVED that this story was told from Adam's P.O.V., it really helped the story. The fact that Gayle Forman is amazing crossed my mind quite often as I tore through Where She Went. Her writing is beautiful and relatable,...

  • Review: Touched Sense Thieves

    This author is OFFICIALLY on my auto-buy list. Seriously, EVERYONE should read this. The characters were fun and felt real. This is one of those stories that makes you forget about the author, and the world around you, and takes you to this brave new...

  • Review: Unravel Me Shatter Me

    I didn't know how anything could even get on the same ladder as Shatter Me, so while I was anxious for Unravel Me... I was worried and doubtful. But now I've read Unravel Me, and I'm left so shell-shocked that the only thoughts in my mind are: chapter...

  • Review: Shatter Me Dystopian Trilogy, #1

    Shatter Me got my pulse racing from page one. At first, Juliette was cowardly and silly. But by the end I felt myself wanting to hurt anyone that DARED to make her feel that way. And I was ready. Which says something about the amazing author, doesn't...

  • Review: The Pack

    Writing this review is a little hard for me. It's hard because I know that I'm giving a low score to a part of the authors' soul. Though I appreciate her attempt to teleport me into the world in her mind-- I have to admit that I never reached it. The...

  • Review: Choke

    Choke is an oddly refreshing gem with a message. The characters were younger than I'm used to, but they were very friendly and, by the end, are great influences to children and teens. The story talks about the choking game, a game that I had never heard...

  • Review: Blaze or Love in the Time of Supervillains

    What can I say about Blaze? Well, for starters, I love the name: Blaze. As in Johnny Blaze. It really added to the overall story, as well as emphasized her father's love or comic books early on. Blaze acted very stupid in the beginning, but she does mature...

  • Review: What the Spell Life's a Witch Prequel

    Mean Girls meets 80's film Teen Witch easily describes What the Spell. While it's aimed at a younger audience than myself, I thoroughly enjoyed the hi-jinx and Brooklyn's obsession with popularity all the while learning to master her new found witching...

  • Review: Opal A Lux Novel

    Jennifer L. Armentrout is quickly becoming one of my favorite writers of all time. Opal is like nothing I ever expected and my mind is still completely taken over by this latest installment in the Lux series. Katy and Daemon have been put through the...

  • Review: The Different Girl

    The Different Girl was not what I was expecting. It was strange to say the least and I am not sure I personally understood most of what was going on. In this story there are three girls who are exactly alike except for their hair color. They are taken...

  • Review: Obscura Burning

    This one didnt impress me much. I did love the cover which is why I wanted to give it a chance. However it was a solid three stars for me. I thought parts of it were confusing. So all in all this one will work out for some people but for me it just didnt.

There are 1,649 results matching your search criteria.
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles