• Review: Obscura Burning

    This one didnt impress me much. I did love the cover which is why I wanted to give it a chance. However it was a solid three stars for me. I thought parts of it were confusing. So all in all this one will work out for some people but for me it just didnt.

  • Review: Wishing You Were Here Soul Mates, #1

    Wishing You Were Here is one wonderful read! I love time travel books and this one was a very fast read! The flow was a little off in places, thought after a while you get used to it and things pan out fine. Wishing You Were Here will leave you twisted...

  • Review: The 39 Deaths of Adam Strand

    For a story about a boy who continually attempts suicide and ultimately succeeds although an unknown force brings him back to life, readers sure aren't quite given an answer as the the how and why questions that arouse while reading the story. While I...

  • Review: The Human Side The Demon Side Series #2

    The Human Side is actually the second book in the Side series. The first novella was titled The Demon Side. I've read both books. I can honestly say this book truly accomplishes one of the most difficult tasks in writing a series. It manages to continue...

  • Review: Unfree Humanless, Book 2

    Unfree is a beautiful follow up to the first novel, Humanless, and ties in flawlessly to the first. I agree with the author in that the books need to be read in order to make sense, as one builds on the other. All of the favorite characters from the first...

  • Review: Gates of Paradise A Blue Bloods Novel, #7

    Wow! What a riveting conclusion to one of my favorite series of all time. Seeing as this is book seven and the concluding installment, it'd be difficult to comment on my favorite plot points and characters without spoiling at least one of the proceeding...

  • Review: Dreams Dreams of Fire and Gods, Book 1

    So it seems that this book is only the second one that this author has written. And let me tell you it is good! He build such a great fantasy world that you just couldn't stop reading it! I just can’t get over how good this book was! I’m looking forward...

  • Review: The Exemeus The Exemeus #1

    Well The Exemeus just didn't work out for me! I thought it was confusing and rushed in parts. With being just over 500 pages I think more time should have been spent on Hayalee's full warrior mode since it is her book. All in all it did keep my attention...

  • Review: Overshadow The Shadow Imperium, #2

    Ok so this is the second book in a series and I don't want to give away anything. I guess I just have to tell you that you NEED to read this second book...but do read book one first! Anything I say about this book will be a spoiler so I really can’t go...

  • Interview: Tamazon Interviews Eleanor T Beaty

    Current Release: Fallen Ruler Describe your current release in two sentences? Lya never imagined her life on earth wasn't a gift but a punishment. Can she escape the past and live up to her ethereal destiny? What have you had to give up to pursue your...

  • Review: The Ruining

    The Ruining definitely gave me the creeps, which is hard to do while reading in the middle of a bright cheery day. It reminded me of the mind bending twists and visual imagery that the film Shutter Island displayed. I was absolutely certain I had it all...

  • Review: Blue Bloods The Graphic Novel

    The newest Blue Bloods novel has just been released, and I wanted a refresher on the series as it hasvbeen awhile since I've read the proceeding books. I have quite a few books in my 'to be read' pile and didn't have time to reread them all, yet I wanted...

  • Review: Eternal Book #1

    This novel definitely packed a punch and kept me feverishly turning the pages to see what happened next to Julia Jones, an eighteen-year-old science prodigy, who was awarded a prestigious internship with Dr. Caleb Bertel, a brilliant scientist. When Dr....

  • Review: Twisted Fairy Tales

    Twisted Fairy Tales has to be one of the most visually stunning collection of fairy tales my eyes have ever feasted on. Regardless of the gruesome twists in plot lines of famous and once childlike fairy tales, the illustrations are to be marveled. Even...

  • Review: Elysium

    I really grabbed this book because I loved the cover. LOL - It's so pretty. Well the good doesn't stop there! With turns and twists and romance and more this story is sure to grab your attention if you love mystery and secrets! So if you want a new ya...

  • Review: Gilded Wings The Angel Chronicles, #2

    Ok so funny story. I grabbed this because I was on a tour for book 1 a while back ago. And I couldn't pass up the chance to read book 2. Well a few days ago I found out that my copy of book 1 was gone. So I was going to have to buy it. All of a sudden...

  • Review: My Wolf's Bane Shapes of Autumn, #1

    Veronica Blade wow’s me again with another fabulous story. She knows how to draw a reader in to her characters’ lives and have you flipping the pages. My Wolf's Bane is an engaging young adult paranormal that readers will enjoy. Autumn is our main character....

  • Review: Awaken The Patronus, #1

    I thought this story had an interesting concept that could have been better developed. I felt like the story was too rushed. I wanted more insight into why Lucy was chosen for the job. Escorting new souls to their final destination and protecting them...

  • Review: Prince Puggly of Spud and the Kingdom of Spiff

    Prince Puggly of Spud and the Kingdom of Spiff is the third novel by the talented Robert Paul Weston. This story, about the importance of fashion, reminds me of a twist on tale of the Emperor’s New Clothes. Prince Puggly of Spud and Princess Francesca...

  • Review: Shrapnel

    This was a really fun, fast paced read for me in which I immediately became engrossed in the story from the very first page. I enjoyed getting to know all the characters, but I especially enjoyed Dylanie the most. She was a Gothic teenager who was a medium...

  • Review: Morrigan

    Morrigan pretty much has something for everyone! From witches that are both good and evil to a teenager trying to find her way. There are faeries who promise immortality to werewolves and more! I read this one in a few hours. It was just that good! After...

  • Review: The Better to Bite

    I will admit that the beginning of this book, the story grated on me. I mean, there were so many clichés. I like how Anne even laughs at a few of the clichés. She is a good girl who likes bad boys. She moves to a new town where her dad is the sheriff...

  • Review: Love Is All You Need Wild Roses; The Nature of Jade

    This collection of two of Deb Caletti's most romantic books being only my second read of Caletti's, I can't believe I haven't picked up any of her other stories before. I preferred The Nature of Jade over Wild Roses, but both had heart achingly sweet...

  • Review: Uses for Boys

    Don't let the pretty cover fool you; this book is deep and incredibly serious. While it is labeled for a young adult crowd, I wouldn't advise readers under the age of 16 to read it. Mature, stomach- rolling, somewhat disturbing content is within its pages....

  • Review: Weighted The Neumarian Chronicles - Prequel

    I thoroughly enjoyed Weighted! It’s a short story and I’m look forward to the sequel. It was a step away from my normal genre, but I found I was hard pressed to put it down! Weighted is very well written. Plus the ending was defiantly a surprise. I recommend...

There are 1,626 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles