• Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Christine Rees

    Thanks for stopping over Christine. Great to have you here. Please share with us what "The Hidden Legacy" is about. Premonition is a curse that follows Faye Lithyer. Upon seeing a new friend fall victim in an upcoming murder, Faye becomes determined to...

  • Review: Lost in Wonderland The Twisted and the Brave Book 1

    To be totally honest, this novel took my by complete surprise. It’s intriguing, enchanting, and gave me a whole new view on the mythos of Wonderland. It moves very smoothly, switching from Wonderland to the real world and back again with ease. It also...

  • Review: The Seven Year Dress

    Myra was only looking for a room to rent while she was in college. She wasn’t looking for a friend or new family member. When she answered Helen Stein’s ad for a room for rent, she got more than she expected. During the interview, she noticed the number...

  • Review: As Red as Blood

    This book intrigued me from reading the synopsis but as soon as I got it in my hands and started reading, I was left confused with no understanding of what was happening and going on. Maybe because this was translated from a Finnish was the reasoning...

  • Review: The Vampire Book of the Month Club

    "The Vampire Book of the Month Club" is about Nora Falcon, a seventeen-year-old bestselling author of the vampire series, "Better off Bled". At a book-signing, a hot stranger approaches her and we later find out that he’s a vampire. A vampire who wants...

  • Review: Dragonfly Nightmare Once Upon A Secret Book 1

    "Dragonfly Nightmare" is about Allie, a girl with a traumatic past and overprotective parents, who decides to go to summer camp with her best friend and her best friend’s brother. Once they arrive, things feel “off.” With some sleuthing, Allie and her...

  • Review: Dreadnought Nemesis - Book One

    Our main character in “Dreadnought” is Danny. She is a Trans character. She ends up with powers when the famous Dreadnought dies in front of her. She is then the superhero! This was a great little book that packs one giant punch. That anyone no matter...

  • Article: Simulation Giveaway From M Black - eBook for All + a Print + Swag

    Get entered to win a Print book and author swag. Plus all readers get an eBook from M Black! Comment Question: What about the blurb for Simulation intrigues you? Open to: Includes Tangible Items - USA Shipping Only, Digital Items - Open International...

  • Review: Yakimali's Gift

    What a beautiful story! “Yakimali's Gift” is so well written. It’s about the Marquina family. They make their journey in 1775 from Mexico to California. They deal with the Spaniards and Indians. During the trip there is hardships. Readers will get a bit...

  • Review: The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily

    "The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily" is a continuation of Dash and Lily's romance which began in the first book. However, while the first book had a lot of good feel moments, the first year of Dash & Lily's relationship hasn't been so sunny. Lily's grandfather,...

  • Review: The Bad Boy Bargain

    “The Bad Boy Bargain” is a fun read from page one. The two main characters are Kyle Sawyer and Faith Gladwell, both high-school seniors. They do not run in the same circles because Kyle is a baseball player, while Faith is dating a football player. At...

  • Review: Falling for the Girl Next Door

    “Falling for the Girl Next Door” is the fifth book in the Creative HeArts series and the second book in the Sloane and Tru Arc. In the first book arc, Sloane moved to Texas from the big NYC after an “incident” and while living there she fell for the bad...

  • Review: Flicker and Mist

    The idea of people who could become invisible was a very neat concept. I was drawn in by the story but soon found out that it was not really for me. The descriptions of their world and the animals that lived there were not enough to paint a vivid picture....

  • Article: First in a Young Adult Series - Melting Pot

    New Year and New Beginnings Here we are at the start of another new year. Personally, I’m glad to see 2016 in the rearview mirror. Woooo... 2016 was a tough one on soooooo many levels, but now is the time for a fresh start. Time to reflect on last...

  • Article: Cover Wars: Crystallum VS Midnight Hour + Win Both Books!

    Cover Wars continues with Crystallum VS Midnight Hour. Vote for the cover you like the best! When you vote you also get entered to win Kindle copies of both books . We will have one winner who gets them both! The winning cover for this Cover Wars event...

  • Review: Midnight Hour A Shadow Falls Novel

    This can't be the end!!! I’m so sad that this is the conclusion!!! “Midnight Hour” is the book I've been waiting for!!! It’s in Miranda's POV and wow just wow!!! Words cannot express how I feel! I love that although Miranda is a witch she is not perfect...

  • Review: The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland

    “The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland” for me was a mess. It was manic to the extreme and I just couldn't get into it. I felt very confused and didn't connect with any of the characters. The story felt very bipolar and it just didn't work out for me.

  • Review: The Da Vinci Code - The Young Adult Adaptation

    I decided to read part of this book alongside its adult counterpart. And what I found was the adult version reads as a book two to “Angels and Demons”, The YA version reads as a book one. Other differences were we get a letter to the reader in the YA...

  • Review: Girls Like Me

    This book is in the format of text messages and verse!!! So the first thing I noticed when I opened this book was that it was written in verse, then it changes to text messaging down the line. There are a lot of broken lines and it just made the book...

  • Review: Girl on a Plane

    “Girl on a Plane” starts out like any other. A girl is getting ready to go back to school. She is flying out the next morning. She is part of a family that moves around a lot due to her dad being in the military. The author did an amazing job letting...

  • Review: Drop Dead Demons The Divinicus Nex Chronicles, #2

    Once again I cannot sing the praises enough of these two mother, daughter writing duo. Book two of The Divinicus Nex Chronicles has my all time fave main characters, has Aurora and the Hex Boys battling more demons.

  • Review: Forget Me Always Lovely Vicious, #2

    “Forget Me Always” is the second book in the Lovely Vicious series. It picks up a few weeks after the first book ends with Isis trying to recover her memories after the incident. Without giving too much away, I will say that I love this series and the...

  • Review: We Are Still Tornadoes

    “We Are Still Tornadoes” was great and positive surprise for me. When I started reading it I realized that it was written in epistolary form. This is not my favorite type of writing, but since I really liked the first few pages I decided to keep on reading....

  • Review: All Her Secrets

    “All Her Secrets” is about Victoria, the daughter of a famous genius inventor, who was almost murdered four years ago, but then recently gets kidnapped. I love a good thriller and this was an okay one. The main thing that bothered me was that I didn’t...

  • Review: Hellbound The Lost Souls Trilogy, #2

    It’s hard to come up with the right words to review “Hellbound”. It was even better than book one in The Lost Souls Trilogy. The characters come alive in this book and I was just caught up flipping the pages. This book just has so much going on and I...

There are 1,626 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles