• Review: The Art of Holding On and Letting Go

    "The Art of Holding on and Letting Go" is a debut YA novel worth reading. The story revolves around Cara Jenkins a teenage girl and competitive climber. Cara lived with her parents and their friend. But one day after the tragic incident that changed and...

  • Review: You're Welcome, Universe

    “You're Welcome, Universe” started out really well. I really loved how the main character stood up for her friend when it came to a slur. The school was in no hurry to stand up and do anything. I think we all strive to have a friend like that. But around...

  • Review: Just Fly Away

    “Just Fly Away” is a book I thought I was going to end up not finishing. As the ending came near I ended up liking it more than I thought I was going to. Lucy's relationship with her gramps really came through during the story. I really enjoyed how this...

  • Review: Becoming a Legend The Blue Eyes Trilogy, #2

    The series started out intriguing and I had high hopes for it, but I didn't really want to go on to finish the trilogy at the end of the "Becoming a Legend". The premise is interesting and there's lots of excitement, but with all things considered (Ari's...

  • Review: Eerie Eerie, #1

    Eerie is a bit different than other books. The author not only gives you a dark eerie suspense, but it's funny too. The book will have you on the edge of your seat throughout. You may find yourself looking over your shoulder at any little sound and then...

  • Article: Excerpt: Perdition by Lindsey Ouimet

    After the death of her stepfather, Michaela Reilly’s family picks up and moves from the bustling city of Miami to a tiny speck of a town in the middle of nowhere Georgia. Starting over is always hard, but when you’re stuck with an emotionally...

  • Review: Letters to the Lost

    This book, OMG!! I didn't know if this was going to be a win for me. The contemporary YA genre is so hit and miss for me that I usually go into them with the thought that I won't be finishing the book. So when I find something like this that I'm just...

  • Article: Stranje House Novels Giveaway Signed

    THIS GIVEAWAY HAS NOW ENDED. THE AUTHOR SELECTS THE WINNERS AND CONTACTS THEM. Enter to win the first three books in the Stranje House series. Plus a $25 Barnes and Noble Gift Card, Swag, Jane Austen Items and the Mastermind Code Breaking game. The books...

  • Review: Toward a Secret Sky

    Demons, Descriptions, and a Fabulous story await the reader of "Toward a Secret Sky"! It all starts off with Maren moving to Scotland, which let me tell you with the craze that is Outlander I was very happy to have this setting again! Maren as a teenage...

  • Review: Definitions of Indefinable Things

    “Definitions of Indefinable Things” is about a girl who suffers from depression and the boy she falls for who has a pregnant ex-girlfriend. I really didn't think I was going to mesh well with the MC Reggie, but wow how wrong I was. I loved the aspects...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews K.H. Mezek

    Hi K.H., Glad to have you back again. Please tell us about your latest release, "Cave of Secrets" the third NIGHT ANGELS CHRONICLES book. So far, you have battled shadows. Those forces will get stronger. And so shall you. ~ The Medicine Woman Sevenhawks...

  • Review: Recruits Recruits, #1

    I really wanted to like “Recruits”. The premise was very interesting but the writing just didn't work for me. The teens are eighteen years old. So for me, I think this should have been written as a high young adult to even new adult, but the way the story...

  • Review: Hello, Universe

    “Hello, Universe” is a great book. It’s sweet and about friendship. I really liked this one and I don't like many middle grade stories anymore. “Hello, Universe” is a great book and should be added to the school library shelves. It’s about standing up...

  • Review: Fanning the Flames Going Down in Flames

    Note: I haven't read the previous books in this series, so this review will definitely reflect that and readers who have read the previous books should take what I say with a grain of salt. I found it difficult to get into the story. I wasn't sure what...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Zoe Cruz

    Hi Zoe. It's awesome to have you over. With the Beauty and the Beast movie just hitting the big screen the timing for your book "Beastia" is perfect. What is your story about? It's a dark, edgy retelling of Beauty and the Beast. A mean girl from Chicago...

  • Review: For Love and Honor

    I have enjoyed every book that I have read of Jody Hudlund. I loved “For Love and Honor” just as much! This medieval fantasy series is one of my absolute favorites! The author has a way of grabbing you and keeping you reading until the very last page....

  • Review: Seven Days of You

    I went into “Seven Days of You” a little skeptical. The reason being, I thought it was going to be very insta-lovey and melodramatic book. But Vinesse did a great job of writing a very grounded and realistic story that could absolutely happen at this...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews M Black

    Hi M. Black. Thanks for joining us today. Please tell us about "EXOTIQA". What's it about? In a future where humans have robot parts and robots are becoming more humanlike, Fione meets Maci, a Flexbot escaping ImaTech in Canada. When Fione learns the...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Cindy A. Matthews

    Today we have Cindy A. and Adrian J. Matthews with us. Hi Cindy. Hi Adrian. Thanks for coming and visiting with us and the readers. Please tell us about your book "Olivia's Return". Olivia's Return is book two in a three book series set on the alien world...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Adrian J. Matthews

    Today we have Cindy A. and Adrian J. Matthews with us. Hi Cindy. Hi Adrian. Thanks for coming and visiting with us and the readers. Please tell us about your book "Olivia's Return". Olivia's Return is book two in a three book series set on the alien world...

  • Article: CM McCoy's $25 Amazon Card Giveaway Featuring Eerie

    Young adult author C.M. McCoy has a wonderful $25 Amazon Card giveaway for readers.  Open International Comment Question: So you have vivid dreams? Eerie - Eerie, #1 Buy Now Hailey's dreams have always been, well...vivid. As in monsters from her...

  • Review: Gardenia

    For me the cover to this one says it all. I was so excited to read this story about a girl who knew how long everyone had to live. It sounded exciting and wondrous but what I found was a slow story with almost no real direction. I ended up putting it...

  • Review: The Game Begins: An Introduction R. Caine High School Book 1

    Author Victoria Danann is at it again! This enchanting book is the beginning of a tale about the Gods of Old, their devious games, and the innocent children who are caught up in their shenanigans. It’s the brilliant start to her new Young Adult series....

  • Review: This Is All Your Fault, Cassie Parker

    “This Is All Your Fault, Cassie Parker” by Terra Elan McVoy reminds me of the angst and drama that accompanies one’s journey through childhood. The giggly security of doing things with one’s best friend and the tragedy of trying to fit in is vividly portrayed....

  • Review: Allegedly

    “Allegedly” covers the court system and how African Americans are treated within it. It does a great job with this. However, it does also have a lot of issues, in my opinion. Within the first few pages we have the three quotes. "You'd think someone would...

There are 1,626 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles