• Article: Winners: Summer Fun 2017 (Jul 19 - Aug 9)

    This Event is Now Over 36 AUTHORS OVER 90 WINNERS $900 IN PRIZES Jo Anne Potter Vincenti $100 Lisa Ward $50 Jodi Hunter $50 Melanie Bracco $25 Marcia Woodell $25 Melissa Murray Quintanilla $25 Sandra Curiel $25 Shelley Gladden $10 Linda Buzard-Moffitt...

  • Review: In 27 Days

    “In 27 Days” is a fast paced story that has the reader flipping through the pages. Hadley has made a deal with Death! She is going to go back in time to stop a classmate from killing himself. I was swept up into the drama of this book and how Hadley goes...

  • Review: Solo

    Well, I need to learn to read it seems. When I grabbed “Solo” for review, I didn't read the full blurb and details. I didn't see where it said this book was in poetic style. Go me! Well, I am kind of glad I didn't see that this was written like that....

  • Review: All Things New

    All Things New started out a little slow for me but once I got to page 8 it picked up. I was caught in the story of this girl who had a horrible experience and then went through the thought “Am I crazy?” She saw things others didn't, she felt things others...

  • Article: The Host – Apples to Oranges

    The Host by Stephenie Meyer puts a twist on the classic tale of alien invasion by showing the aliens as a compassionate advanced species while the worst traits of human beings are on full display for readers to feel conflicted about who they should root...

  • Review: Paper and Fire The Great Library, #2

    “Paper and Fire” by Rachel Caine takes up where “Ink and Bone” left off, immersing the reader back in the complicated world ruled by the Library and those who oversee it. The surprising revelation on the first page was a welcome discovery and it intensifies...

  • Review: Corliss The Girls of Spindrift Book 1

    I liked that this was a quick read, primarily aimed at YA but a good read for anyone. I felt that it was a background of sorts for getting to know the characters going into the book “Bittersweet Dreams”. This is the first book in a series that sets up...

  • Review: Shadowcaster Shattered Realms, #2

    “Shadowcaster” has a perfect blend of action, characters, battles and omg cliffhangers!!! So be warned! If you loved book one you WILL die hard love this story! It doesn't pick up where book one ends off. I won't tell you any more than that. Overall,...

  • Review: Steeplejack A Steeplejack novel, #1

    I am always on the lookout for something new and man is “Steeplejack” it! I am so excited in finding this wild and very creative as well as different story. “Steeplejack” is full of mystery, action, and some very diverse characters. This story hit it...

  • Review: Firebrand A Steeplejack novel, #2

    If you thought book one was good then you are going to die when you read “Firebrand”, book two!!! This book has it all. Get ready for phenomenal world building, wonderful characters, and great pacing! This is another great story that I couldn't put down....

  • Review: Remember Me Forever Lovely Vicious Book 3

    "Remember Me Forever" is the third and final book in the Lovely Vicious series. I have to say that this was an amazing, mind-blowing conclusion. When I first read the series, it was independently published, and I loved it. And now that I read it again,...

  • Review: Garden of Thorns

    "Garden of Thorns" is about Rose, a girl who spent seven years in the Garden, which is a burlesque group made up of slave girls. When she finally escapes, she brings along a hostage. A hostage that is the former heir to the throne, and now leading a rebellion...

  • Review: Operation Prom Date

    Kate is in love with a popular quarterback and she wanted to take him to prom. And for that she needed help. And Cooper needs a rowing partner since his original partner broke his arm. Cooper agrees to help Kate with getting Mick to go to prom with her...

  • Review: The Breaking Light Split City Book 1

    I just wasn't able to finish "The Breaking Light". I got to around 20%. It just didn't work out for me at all. The book started out with the MC being held at knife point by her future love. And that was wonderful..............until.......she couldn't...

  • Review: The Hundredth Queen The Hundredth Queen Series Book 1

    “The Hundredth Queen” is a young adult fantasy. It was beyond fantastic! I wasn't too sure about it when I started, but shortly in, I knew I was going to die hard love it. So I know what you are thinking…why the 4 stars. Although this book has beautiful,...

  • Article: Cave of Secrets $25 Amazon Card & eBook Giveaway From K.H. Mezek

    Enter to win an awesome $25 Amazon Card and an eBook from author K.H. Mezek! Open International Comment Question: If you had the chance to be all-powerful at the price of losing the man you love would you take it? Cave of Secrets - Night Angels Chronicles...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Brett Armstrong

    Hi Brett! Great to have you over to discuss your book "Day Moon" and your career. Please tell us all a bit about "Day Moon". What's your book about? That can be a pretty deep question, but I will stick with the gist of the story: In A.D. 2039, a prodigious...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Jean Baxter

    Hi Jean. It's great to have you over on Night Owl Reviews. Please tell us about your debut book, "Salvageable". Salvageable is the story of eighteen-year-old Michael Jarrid. His pregnant ex-girlfriend wrongly accuses him of fathering her child, and his...

  • Review: Refuge for Masterminds A Stranje House Novel, #3

    Can I scream? YES, YES AND YES this is the story I have been waiting for. Man I really don’t want the Stranje House series to end! I really love how these books have different points of view. You don’t miss anything as the series goes along its way. I...

  • Review: The Romeo Catchers The Casquette Girls Series Book 2

    “The Romeo Catchers” is a great sequel to the The Casquette Girls series. It’s been a while since I read book one so I had to look up what it was about as I didn't remember. And I just didn't have the time to reread book one. This second book was really...

  • Review: It Started with Goodbye

    "It Started With Goodbye", by Christina June, is a glorious coming of age teen story. Tatum is a delightful girl who feels the weight of the world coming down upon her. The author does a good job of portraying her as a realistic teen. Others will definitely...

  • Review: Violet Grenade

    Holy crap, Violet Grenade was crazy. There was so much going on and I got sucked in from the very first page. Victoria Scott wrote an amazing book that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. This is one of those books that will stay with...

  • Article: 2 Book Giveaway: Steeplejack & Firebrand Giveaway by A. J. Hartley

    OUR LUCKY WINNER IS: Kassandra V. The YA series RL Stine can't put down! Thoughtfully imaginative, action-packed, and set in a 19th-century South African fantasy world, Steeplejack by New York Times-bestselling A.J. Hartley was met with resounding critical...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Karen Michelle Nutt

    Hi Karen. It's great to have you over to discuss your life and latest release. Please tell us about "Two Worlds Collided". It's a Time travel romance that takes place in 1997 Los Angeles. Evie Reid, on a whim, agrees to travel back in time to change bad...

  • Interview: Night Owl Romance Interviews Kadee Carder

    Hi Kadee. Thanks for stopping over to share your Young Adult series and life with us. I checked and saw that the series should be read in order. What is it about? Power within her. War without. Between the lines of flirtation and justice, Saylor must...

There are 1,626 results matching your search criteria.
Marked Beauty Marked Beauty
The Queen's Poisoner The Queen's Poisoner
Tower of Dawn Tower of Dawn

First Year by Rachel E. Carter

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

YA Titles